12 named MVPsin Sidney fall sports


Staff report

Sidney High School athletes were honored recently with the presentation of special awards at fall sports banquets.

Recognized for their achievements this season were athletes in football, cross country, volleyball, boys and girls soccer, golf, girls tennis, and cheerleading.

There were Most Valuable Player awards handed out in five different sports, and those awards went to 12 different athletes, varsity and junior varsity.

Isaiah Bowser’s record-setting junior season in football earned him the Dick Flanagan MVP award.

Ana Adams and Gavin Bockrath were named cross country Most Valuable Runners, Jared Lindsey was the golf MVP, Luke Rees and Elliott Wilson won varsity MVP honors in boys soccer and Trey Werntz in junior varsity boys soccer, Kiana Calvert, Amanda Thomas and Carrie Nuss in varsity volleyball, and Payton Boshears and Arielle Snider in JV volleyball.

Following are the special award winners:


Captains Awards — Conor Beer, Jack Feazel, Allec Gordon, Javon Purk.

Dick Flanagan MVP — Isaiah Bowser

Oustanding Offensive Player — Isaiah Bowser

Outstanding Defensive Player — Devan Rogers

Outstanding Lineman — Javon Purk

Darrell “Smokey” Vorhees Inspiration/Team Award — Jack Feazel

Dan Smole Battered Helmet Award — Devan Rogers

Pearson Family Most Improved — Braydon Dean, Keith Lee

Coach’s Award — Dawson Carpenter, Karoly Timmons

Mom Collins Award — Javon Purk

Bowman Academic Scholarship Fund — Conor Beer, Kaine Fischer, Austin Knight, Javon Purk

Summer Jacket Award — Justin Bears, Isaiah Bowser, Dawson Carpenter, Devon Rogers, Joshua Hartlett, Christian Retterer, Christian Townsen, Darius Goodlow, Brayden Patterson, Zach Smothers.


Overall Jacket Award — Marianna Kellner, Eli Straman

Most Improved — Aidan Smith

Most Valuable Runners — Ana Adams, Gavin Bockrath.


Best Sportsmanship Award — Karlie Lee, Amaya Matlock

Most Spirited Award — Jadyn Ford, Makayla Kennedy

All-Around Cheerleader Award — Hannah Wiford, Camryn Smith

Scholar Award — Jadyn Ford, Amaya Matlock


MVP — Jared Lindsey

Most Improved — Ben Spangler


Best Offensive Players — Jalen Hudgins (varsity), Austin McLain (JV)

Best Defensive Players — Ian Humphrey (varsity), Phillip Bertsch (JV)

MVPs — Luke Rees, Elliot Wilson (varsity), Trey Werntz (JV)

Team Yellow Jacket Award — Riley Kittle (varsity), Christian Walker (JV)

Best Teammate Award — Mason Page (varsity), Noah Houts (JV)


Coaches Award — Erin Ivey

Defensive Award — Macie Ivey

Offensive Award — Emily Wiesenmayer, Elaine Wiesenmayer

Most Improved — Kirsten Sparks


Coaches Award _ Naomi Riegel

Most Improved — Janae Drees, Kathryn Saunders

Most Devoted — Hailey New


(Varsity and JV)

Coaches Awards — Grace Shell, Faith Bockrath, Makali Gibson

Jacket Award — Alexis Doyle, Hannah Wiford, Alyssa Chavez, Allie Herrick

Defensive MVPs — Kiana Calvert, Payton Boshears

Offensive MVPs — Amanda Thomas, Carrie Nuss, Arielle Snider.

Moast Improved — Emily Tolbert, Alina Kindle, Emily Bennett