Fifty-one Lehman Catholic High School students were awarded scholarships totaling $48,500

Staff report

SIDNEY – The annual Lehman Catholic Scholarship Reception was held at Lehman Catholic High School in the Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Chapel on Tuesday, Aug. 2. More than 75 people gathered for a celebration bringing together Lehman Catholic student recipients of named scholarships and the donors who make it possible. Donors and students met with one another, sharing their Lehman bond and the ways that scholarships have impacted both of their lives.

“This is such a special event,” noted Melissa Bennett, executive director of development. “Saint Teresa Calcutta reminds us to do something beautiful for God. These gifts are a living example of doing something beautiful for God; the gift of growing young people in body, mind and soul.”

This year 51 Lehman Catholic students were awarded scholarships totaling $48,500. This is only made possible because of the generosity of scholarship donors and their shared commitment to the Lehman Catholic family.

The following named scholarships awarded individual scholarships of $500-$1,500 to student recipients.

• The Clifton Alexander Scholarship

• The Edward & Betty Carity Scholarship

• The Carol Wesbecher Covault ’56 Scholarship

• Learn Live Love LEHMAN Scholarship

• The Richard & Harriet Frantz Scholarship

• The Gigandet High School Scholarship

• The Frank A. Gilardi & Julie l. (Raterman) Gilardi Scholarship

• The James & Jean Hartzell Family Scholarship

• The Patrick Michael Pudlewski Memorial Scholarship

• The Scott Family Scholarship

• The Norm & Jean Smith Family Scholarship

• The Ann Vondenhuevel Scholarship

The following students were awarded scholarships for the 2017-18 academic year:


Camille Brown, Michael Bunker, Alexandra Herrmann, Alanna O’Leary, Natalie Rocke, Preston Rodgers and Kelsey Weber.


Grace Brandt, Mackenzie Bricker, Logan Bunker, Kiera Burns, Titan Corner, Hannah Giguere, Grace Olding, Ann Pannapara, Brooke Perry, Kaila Sims, Kaija Steward, Aaron Topp and Brieanna Werling.


RJ Bertini, Angela Brunner, Sophia Flood, Tommy Hamlin, Elijah Jock, Kirstyn Lee, Brendan O’Leary, Abigail Schutt, Heidi Schutt and Alex Vanderhorst.


Lucy Behr, Emily Bornhorst, Alexandra Casillas, Dominic Casto, Jeremy Cline, Noelle Dexter, Ryan Gibson, Ella Gover, Lily Heffelfinger, Alexander Keller, Lee Langenderfer, Lindsey Magoteaux, Tristan Neal, Genevieve Olding, Sophie Ratermann, Carianne Rindler, Pyper Sharkins, Casey Topp, Jon VanSkiver and William Voisard.

For more information about establishing a named scholarship in honor or in memory of a loved one, contact Melissa Bennett at 937-498-1161 or

Staff report