Foundation awards scholarships

SIDNEY — Two Jackson Center High School graduates have received $500 scholarships from the Robert E. Grubbs Foundation.

Kasey Copeland, daughter of Kelly and Cindy Copeland, of Lewistown, will attend Bowling Green State University as an intervention specialist major.

Abby Dickman is enrolled in nursing at Rhodes State College. Scott and Jodi Dickman, of Maplewood, are her parents.

The Robert E. Grubbs Foundation was established by Judy Grubbs in her husband’s memory to benefit seniors at Jackson Center High School. The scholarship fund is administered by the Community Foundation of Shelby County.

The Elaine Laughlin Scholarship Fund awarded $1,000 each to Houston High School graduates Devyn Ostrander and Allie Voisard. Ostrander is the son of Tara and Gavin McDermit, of Sidney. He is majoring in industrial and systems engineering at Wright State University. Voisard is an early childhood education student at the Blue Ash campus of the University of Cincinnati. She is the daughter of Kim and Luke Voisard, of Sidney.

Ostrander was also awarded the Layton Family Foundation Scholarship of $1,000.

The Layton Family Foundation, administered by the Community Foundation of Shelby County, was created in memory of Wayne Layton who grew up in the Maplewood area and passed away in 2013. Following his belief of the importance of a college education, the scholarship is awarded each year to a local graduate who will be a first-generation college student.

Several Russia High School graduates also reveiced awards.

The Edward and Merilyn Borchers Family Scholarship Fund awarded renewable, $2,000 scholarships to Samuel Cook, Maria Herron and Kelsey Magoto. Cook, son of Robert and Amy Cook, is studying construction engineering technology at the University of Toledo. Herron, a systems engineering major at Otterbein University, is the daughter of Jamie and Lynn Herron. Magoto attends Wright State University, where she is pursuing a degree in human resources management. She is the daughter of Randy Magoto and Diane Magoto.

The Doc and Hilda Francis Family Scholarship awarded $1,250 renewable scholarships. Recipients were Audrey Gariety and Chloe Sherman. Gariety is the daughter of Ken and Ann Gariety. She is an early childhood education major at the Lake Campus of Wright State University. Sherman, daughter of Douglas and Beth Sherman, is a nursing major at Wright State University.

The Clair and Jeanne Naveau Family Scholarship Fund also honored Audrey Gariety with a $1,000 scholarship.

The Kyle R. Magoto Scholarship Fund named Cole Tebbe to receive a $500 scholarship, which is renewable for a second year. He is the son of Chris and Donna Tebbe and is majoring in agribusiness at the Ohio State University ATI campus in Wooster.

The Dr. Edward and Ann Link $2,500 Scholarship was awarded to a past graduate of Russia High School, Emilie Frazier, daughter of Tracy and Jackie Frazier, who is studying graphic design at Bowling Green State University.

The Dr. Edward and Anne Link Scholarship Fund is available to Shelby County residents pursuing a major related to visual arts, performing arts and creative writing and who have completed at least one year of post-secondary education.

The Law Student Assistance Fund recently awarded a $3,500 scholarship to a Mercer County resident entering the final year of law school. Evin Bachelor, of Celina, is attending the Ohio State University Moritz College of Law. He is the son of Rick and Jeanette Bachelor.

The Law Student Assistance Fund was established by late Sidney attorney Eugene Elsass. Applicants must be approaching their final year of law school. Students from Shelby County or a county abutting Shelby County may apply.

Recipients of the 2017 Herbert and Antoinette Schlater Scholarship have been named. The $2,500 scholarships are awarded to the children of employees of Sidney Electric Company and Area Energy and Electric, Inc.

Kayla Bruns, a graduate of Tippecanoe High School and daughter of Mike and Jan Bruns of Tipp City will attend the Ohio State University where she has set exploration as her major. Her father is employed by Area Energy and Electric, Inc.

Owen Michael, a graduate of Anna High School, is the son of Scott and Beth Michael, of Sidney. Scott is an employee of Sidney Electric Co. Owen is enrolled at Kansas State University, majoring in animal science.

The scholarship fund was created by Herbert and Antoinette Schlater, who were founders of both the Sidney Electric Company and Area Energy and Electric, Inc. in Sidney. The scholarship fund is administered by The Community Foundation of Shelby County.

Online applications are available through the Community Foundation website at beginning mid-December each year.

Staff report