Kiwanis Club installs officers

SIDNEY — At a recent meeting of the Kiwanis Club of Sidney, 2018-19 officers were installed by Lt. Governor Mark Wion, of Piqua.

Installed as board members for a two-year term expiring in 2020 were Gary Carter, Lori Humphrey and Judith Wells. Continuing as board members with their terms expiring in 2019 are Nancy Deafenbaugh, Linda Meininger and Jim Stevenson.

Ray Weber and Mike Tangeman were re-installed as treasurer and secretary respectively. Tangeman has served as secretary for more than 10 years and it has been more than 20 years that Weber has served as club treasurer.

Serving as vice president will be Jim Cole. He also serves a program chairman for the year. Being installed as president-elect was Rikki Unterbrink. Serving as the immediate past president is Jenny Bruns.

Installed as president was Jessica Guillozet.

In addition to the installation ceremony, Bruns gave a summary of the year’s accomplishments and distributed a number of awards.

Weber received the Century Award for his many years of service to the club. DiAnne Karas was awarded the Committer Chairperson of the Year. Special awards were given to John Coffield and Rikki Unterbrink. The prestigious Kiwanian of the Year award was presented to Scott Smith.

The Legion of Honor award was presented to a number of members. Having been members for 30 years were Don Tangeman and Rick Rihm. Receiving their 35-year pins and certificates were Dave Fogt, Duane Goettemoeller and Weber. Past Lt. Governor Coffield was recognized for 40 years. Having joined the club, Aug. 28, 1968, Phil Valentine was presented with his 50-year pin and certificate.

After the meeting, Jake Romaker lead a team of six members, who delivered $2,000 worth of canned goods from Sidney Foodtown to Agape, the Alpha Center, the Salvation Army and Fish.