12 vie for Little Miss Independence

B. Gehret









M. Gehret



FORT LORAMIE — Twelve little girls from the Fort Loramie school district will vie for the title of Little Miss Independence during a pageant scheduled for July 3 at noon in the entertainment tent at the Liberty Days festival.

Hayley Barhorst will serve as mistress of ceremonies. 2000 1st runner up and 2013 queen contestant Maddie Geise, who was Little Miss Independence first runner-up in 2000 and a Miss Independence contestant in 2013, will sing the national anthem before the contest. 2014 Little Miss Independence Sadie Barfel, daughter of Jeremy and Susan Barfel, will crown the new Little Miss Independence. Pageant chairpersons are Kelly Holthaus and Amy Hausfeld.

The contestants include Evelyn Poeppelman, 5, daughter of Erin and Tony Poeppelman; Ella Rethman, 5, daughter of Katie and Greg Rethman; Rylee Barhorst, 6, daughter of Nikki and Brad Barhorst; Faye Grudich, 6, daughter of Jen and Chris Grudich; Cassie Borhorst, 5, daughter of Michelle and Maurice Bornhorst; Maddison Gehret, 5, and Bailey Gehret, 5, daughters of Ashley and Matt Gehret; Tessa Boerger, 6, daughter of Gina and Kevin Boerger; Janelle Siegel, 6, daughter of Janet and Mike Siegel; Corynn Hoelscher, 6, daughter of Jill and Ted Hoelscher; Carly Holthaus, 6, daughter of Shelly and Brian Holthaus; and Jayna Ruhenkamp, 5, daughter of Kim and Jay Ruhenkamp.