Huffman elected to majority whip

COLUMBUS — State Sen. Matt Huffman has been elected as the Ohio Senate’s majority whip for the 133rd General Assembly.

“I am honored to have been chosen by my colleagues to serve as the Senate Majority Whip and as a member of the Senate’s leadership,” Huffman said in a press release. “I look forward to working alongside my colleagues to build on the progress we have made in making our state an exceptional place for all to live, work and raise a family.”

Huffman’s responsibilities will include monitoring legislation and securing votes for legislation on the Senate floor.

Senate Republicans, who hold a supermajority in the legislature, also elected Sen. Larry Obhof, R-Medina, as Senate president, Sen. Bob Peterson, R-Washington Court House, as president pro tempore and Sen. Randy Gardner, R-Bowling Green, as majority floor leader.