Sprague chairs Jackson trustees

Staff report

JACKSON CENTER — The Jackson Township Board of Trustees had its 2016 reorganization meeting, Jan. 4.

Larry Sprague was elected chairman and John Mann was elected vice chairman. Robert Zorn is the third trustee. Diane Frank is the fiscal officer and Ray Davis continues to serve as zoning officer.

Meeting times for the trustees will remain on the third Thursday of each month, beginning at 7 p.m. If there are any scheduling conflicts resulting in a change of meeting date or time or any special meeting set, the information will be posted at the township building.

Roads districts for the trustees were reappointed. Mann’s district is north of Ohio 274; Sprague’s district is south of Ohio 274 and east of Ohio 65; and Zorn’s district is south of Ohio 274 and west of Ohio 65.

Long-time Zoning Board member Ralph Zwiebel retired in January after 40 years of service to Jackson Township. The trustees thanked Zwiebel for his years of leadership on the Zoning Board, as well as serving as Jackson Township’s representative to the Shelby County Regional Planning Commission. Remaining members of the Zoning Board are Willis Fogt, Harry Noah, James Poppe and Ron Wiessinger. Andy Weaver has been appointed a new member of the Zoning Board. The Zoning Board will met to reorganize on Feb. 18.

Appeals Board members are Bert Regula, Herman McBride, Ray Davis, Tim Davis and James W. Davis. The Appeals Board reorganized on Jan. 21. Officers for 2016 are Regula, chairman, and McBride, vice chairman.

Also regarding zoning, the trustees advised all township landowners and local contractors that the township has zoning regulations and before beginning construction, they need to contact the zoning officer at 937-596-6279 for clarification of zoning for their properties to obtain the correct permits.

Railroad crossings on township roads will be upgraded in the near future by the railroad, with stop signs replacing yield signs.

Staff report