Auglaize County Commissioner Don Regula re-elected; Waynesfield-Goshen tax levy passes

By Lance Mihm - [email protected]

WAPAKONETA — There were no ill feelings between Auglaize County commissioner incumbent Don Regula and challenger Dan Lee Tuesday.

With 54 percent of the the votes in and Regula holding a 30 percentage point lead, Lee walked over and shook Regula’s hand, congratulating the incumbent on his win. Regula finished with 6,572 votes to Lee’s 3,346.

With no one running in the Democratic primary, Regula will secure his spot with the Board of Commissioners for a third term.

“I just want to thank the voters,” Regula said. “I really appreciate their support. Auglaize County is a great place to be.”

Regula said he felt that two good people were running, and thinks that experience was the the big advantage for him.

“It is a common sense job where you make common sense decisions,” Regula said. “There is a learning curve and I have been there. I am from an agricultural background, and this is an agricultural community. I know what they expect and I think that helps.”

Regula will start his third four-year term with the commissioners in January.

Regula said the commissioners will continue to work at the Neil Armstrong Airport. The $2 million project includes building a terminal at the airport. He said the commissioners also will continue to maintain buildings in the county, something he said is a continual job.

Auglaize County voters based their choice for commissioner on the experience factor.

“I voted for Regula because everything seems to be going well,” David Miller, of Wapakoneta, said.

Waynesfield-Goshen school district voters approved a five-year, 1 percent income tax levy renewal for current expenses Tuesday. The levy passed 484 to 384.

“On behalf of the board and the staff, we appreciate the continual support of the voters, Waynesfield-Goshen Superintendent Chris Pfister said. “We appreciate that they are always supportive.”

The tax was originally passed in 1992 and has been in place for 24 years. The levy generates about $600,000, or roughly 10 percent of the district’s operating expenses.

In contested central committee races, Joseph Manbeck edged out Donald Smith 27-19 for the Duchouquet Democratic Committee seat, David Barton (21) edged out Amber Turnmire (4) and Joshua Turnmire (3) for the Wayne Township Democratic Committee spot, and Dawn James defeated Kristina Hawn 88-67 for the Waynesfield Republican Central Committee seat.

By Lance Mihm

[email protected]

Reach Lance Mihm at 567-242-0409 or at Twitter @LanceMihm.

Reach Lance Mihm at 567-242-0409 or at Twitter @LanceMihm.