Board approves 2nd earned income tax levy resolution

By Melanie Speicher -

SIDNEY — The second resolution needed to place an earned income tax levy on the May ballot was approved during a special Zoom meeting of the Sidney City Schools Board of Education Monday night. The board also approved reduction in force/nonrenewals.

The resolution allows the board to presnt the levvy information to the Shelby County Board of Elections for placement on the May 4 ballot. The deadline for the board of elections to receive the resolution is Feb. 3.

The levy — if approved — will raise $3,383,068 annually for the district through a .75% earned income tax for a period of 10 years. An earned income tax means the people receiving Social Security and pensions will not be taxed.

The board had originally voted to place a traditional income tax levy on the ballot. After receiving feedback from meetings and community members, the board decided to change the levy from the traditional to earned income.

The traditional income tax levy was rescinded by the board and it will not appear on the ballot. The only tax issue on the May 4 ballot for Sidney City Schools will be the .75% earned income tax levy.

The board also approved resignations, nonrenewals and the reduction in force of staff members and a change of assignment.

Resignations were accepted from Douglas Bensman, game help, effective Jan. 4; Shelley Scroggin, Longfellow aide, effective Jan. 25; and Dennis Morrison, Sidney High School principal, effective Aug. 1

The nonrenewal of aide contracts is effective Aug. 1. Receiving nonrenewals were Pam Alexander, Linda Allen, Bob Barnes, Peggy Bean, Michelle Beatty, Cindy Biddle, Lee Ann Boller, Patti Boshears, Abigail Bowman, Sheryl Bruns, Kristen Brunswick, Stephanie Cavinder, Madge Connlley, Jenny Coverstone, Sara Cowen, Michelle Freistuhler, Tammy Gerstner, Lindsey Goffena, Kelly Harris, Julia Helman, Larry Hoel, Kylie Hopkins, Christina Jenkins, Tammi Johnson, Shelly Jones, Paula King, Jolene Krebehenne, Jackie Lentz, Christine Knott, Amanda Lloyd, Sara Mann, Kris Masteller, Jennifer McKibben, Jalynn Mead, Dianne Murray, Stacey New, Taylor New, Cheryl Niswonger, Jenna Puckett, Lois Reithman, Barbara Roddy, Ronda Russell, Teresa Schroer Denise Slonaker, Justin Smith, Sarah Steenrod, Summer VanHook, Julie White, Jennifer Wiford and Amy Wildermuth.

Each aide was given a one-year contract through the school district.. Aide positions are now being hired through the Midwest Regional Educational Service Center.

Teachers who received a suspension due to reduction in force were Michelle Angell, Jamie Barnes, Josh Billing, Michelle Chapman, Nicole Colarusso, Stephanie Crosby, Morgan Goffena, Donovan Gregory, Katie-Marie Hall, Kelly Hoying, Maria Kinninger, Ruby-Tuesday Morrison, Heather Murray, Victoria Purk, Marsha Thompson and Drew Wehrman.

A change of assignment was approved for Dianne Cavinder from assistant cook to had cook. She will be paid 16.51 per hour. The change is effective Jan. 11, 2021.

By Melanie Speicher

Reach the writer at 937-538-4822.

Reach the writer at 937-538-4822.