Auglaize County residents to eat cake

Let Us All Eat Cake!

WAPAKONETA — Auglaize County’s 175th Anniversary Committee invites all local residents to enjoy (birthday) cake on Feb. 14. School cafeterias, restaurants, work places, group living centers, individual families — everyone is encouraged to celebrate the 175th with cake, and then send a picture to post on the Auglaize County Historical Society Facebook page.

This date is the actual birthday of the county. After failed attempts, the Ohio Legislature approved the formation of Auglaize County on Feb. 14, 1848, the 84th (of 88) in the state.

“The concept is simple and fun. We all celebrate milestones with cake. Since 46,000+ of us can’t gather for cake in one location, we invite everyone to enjoy cake where they are, whether that be at home, at school, at work, or at local restaurants. We’ll then share the many images folks submit of themselves celebrating this birthday,” said Auglaize County Historical Society administrator and 175th committee member Rachel Barber.

The county courthouse and county administration building (Blackhoof Street) are among locations where residents can enjoy cake for the 175th, thanks to a collaboration with the United Way of Auglaize County.

Cake will be served in both locations from 11:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. While cake servings are free to all, the United Way will accept free-will donations to benefit the non-profit agencies with whom they partner.

“Being a part of Auglaize County’s sesquicentennial celebration is an honor for the United Way,” said Deb Zwez, executive director of the organization. “Our mission to unite the caring power of our community echoes the county’s ‘great past, greater future’ theme. The United Way has had great success in the past, and like the county we strive for greater things in our future.”

The United Way allocates funding to non-profit organizations in Auglaize County, and those who serve Auglaize County residents.

Among other participants, the Wapakoneta City School system has also signed on to serve cake on Feb. 14. The 175th anniversary committee invites local organizations and businesses to share their plans for cake (ahead of Feb. 14), to build community excitement in the activity.

The volunteer members of the 175th committee include Rachel Barber, Lori Bellman, Genevieve Conradi, Dennis Dicke, Luann Everett, Dennis Gaertner, Don Harrod, Jim Lee, Esther Leffel, Edee Marshall, Mary Mathews, Sharon Schnell, Jeanne Shaw, Marilyn Shaw, Lisa Watercutter, and Charisse Zuppardo. The committee members have met monthly since mid-2021 to plan the milestone anniversary.

Those with questions about the 175th anniversary should contact Barber at [email protected]