Uncontested races plentiful in Shelby County

Staff report

SIDNEY — Voters going to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 7, won’t see a lot of choices for council and board of education seats. Many of the candidates are unopposed or there aren’t enough people running to fill the upcoming vacancies.

In the city of Sidney, four councilmen are up for re-election. None of them are opposed Tuesday. Seeking re-election are Martha Bixler Milligan, 1521 Port Jefferson Road, Sidney, 1st Ward; Darryl E. Thurber, 530 N. West Ave., Sidney, 2nd Ward; Ed Hamaker, 1221 St. Marys Ave., Sidney, 3rd Ward; and Steve Wagner, 702 S. Ohio, 4th Ward.

In Anna, four council seats are available. Only three candidates are running: Joel M. Kranneburg, 303 Meadowview, Anna, and incumbents Cindy Naseman, 402 Ruby Court, Anna, and Gary Strasser, 205 S. Second St., Anna. Incumbent Jennifer L. Shoffner didn’t seek re-election.

In Botkins, four council seats are up for election with only three candidates on the ballot. They are incumbents Craig D. Brown, 318 King St., Botkins, Nicholas J. Greve, 301 E. South St., Botkins, and Lance Symonds, 400 Huber St., Botkins. Incumbent Steve Heuker’s petition was rejected by the Shelby County Board of Elections because he didn’t have enough valid signatures.

Four candidates are running for the four Fort Loramie Council seats. They are newcomers Sam Grassbaugh, 81 S. Main St., Fort Loramie, and Timothy H. Siegel, 560 Greenback, Fort Loramie, and incumbents Ryan L. Simon, 190 Grandview, Fort Loramie, and Charles Wray, 561 Elizabeth, Fort Loramie. Incumbents Ryan Albers and Paul Eilerman didn’t seek re-election.

Running for the four Jackson Center Council seats are incumbents James Devine, 208 E. College. Jackson Center, Leisha R. Elchert, 104 Waterford, Jackson Center, Jesse C. Fark, 203 Oak, Jackson Center, and Larry D. Wahrer, 104 Island, Jackson Center.

In Kettlersville, only one person is running. There are four seats available on council. Incumbent Karen Berning, 16389 Easy, Kettlersville, is the only candidate on the ballot. The petition of incumbent Betty Ike was rejected because the form wasn’t completed correctly. Other incumbents not seeking re-election were Vickey Greer and Ida Kaminsky.

In both Lockington and Port Jefferson, four seats are available on council.

Three people filed petitions for Lockington Council and all three — Ashley Branson, Estel Johnson and Amber Lowe — were rejected because the circulator statement wasn’t completed. Incumbents Brent Taylor and Tabitha Taylor didn’t seek re-election.

None of the incumbents on Port Jefferson Council — Loretta Cook, Judy Burris, Heather Clark or Krystal Cox — sought re-election.

Terence Daugherty, 106 Oakwood St., Russia, is unopposed as he seeks re-election as Russia’s mayor. There are four council seats available and only two people running for office — incumbents John J. Grogean, 315 Westwood, Russia, and Mary Jo High, 110 Highland, Russia. Incumbents Ronald Simon and Larry Platfoot didn’t seek re-election.

Unopposed board of education races include Botkins, Fort Loramie, Jackson Center and Russia.

In Botkins, three seats are available with incumbent Neil Boerger, 17975 Hardin Wapakoneta Road, Botkins, and newcomers Scott Bayless, 212 E. Walnut St., Botkins, and Jason Wendel, 108 Karen, Botkins, appear in the ballot. Current board members Rebecca Hoelscher and Jack Koenig didn’t seek re-election.

Two seats are available in the Fort Loramie School District. Two newcomers are running unopposed. They are Bradley John Rethman, 4877 State Route 705, Fort Loramie, and Michael Norbert Siegel, 48 Greenback, Fort Loramie. Incumbents James P. Maurer and Anthony J. Meyer didn’t seek re-election.

Incumbents Kristine Mullenhour, 17275 Montra Road, Anna, and Dana Ware, 20000 Botkins Road, Jackson Center, are the only candidates seeking the two available seats on the Jackson Center Board of Education.

There are three seats available on the Russia Local Schools Board of Education. Incumbents Joshua D. Francis, 850 Foxtail Drive, Russia, and Chelsea Hoying, 4901 Russia Road, Russia, and newcomer Maria A. Hoehne, 865 Redmond, Russia, are the only candidates who will appear on the ballot. Incumbent Deidre Kearns did not seek re-election.

Staff report