Incumbents, newcomers take township races

By Patricia Ann Speelman -

SIDNEY — It was a night for incumbents — and for newcomers — when the votes were counted, Tuesday, Nov. 7, in several contested township trustee races in Shelby County.

In Jackson Township, newcomer Gary Metz unseated incumbent John Mann and outpaced newcomer Jason Platfoot to win one of two seats there. Incumbent Robert Zorn retained his seat. Metz captured 318 votes, 28.83 percent; Zorn, 278 votes, 25.3 percent; Mann, 256, 23.21 percent and Platfoot, 251, 22.76 percent.

“It was a close race all around,” Zorn said. “It’s a great feeling to be re-elected. I want to thank everybody that supported me.”

Incumbent Alex Berner will retain his seat as a Franklin Township trustee, after getting 406 votes, 38.45 percent of the total. Alan Michael will join him on that board. He received 349 votes, 33.05 percent. Not elected was Michael Carity, who, with 301 votes, got 28.5 percent of the total.

In Washington Township, one incumbent retained a seat and another did not. Randy Schwable took 35.37 percent, 208 votes, to remain on the board. But newcomer Richard E. Feight got the most votes, 219, which represented 37.24 percent. Not winning a seat was incumbent Theodore H. Larger, who got 161 votes, 27.38 percent. Feight, who works nights, was not available for comment. Schwable said he was glad he “got back in. I wasn’t really going to run, but I decided to.”

Voters gave the nod to incumbent Mark D. Henman and Frederick E. Favors in Perry Township. Henman got 157 votes, 40.78 percent of the total; Favors got 143 votes, 37.14 percent. Not elected was Daniel J. Wooddell, who recieved 85 votes, 22.08 percent of the total.

“I look forward to working with the new trustee,” Henman said. “I appreciate all the voters’ turning out.”

In the only contested race for a township fiscal officer position, Mack A. Knupp defeated Joseph Eugene Everett in Green Township. Knupp captured 162 votes or 60.9 percent. His rival, 104 votes, 39.10 percent. Both candidates were newcomers.

“I’m excited about winning. It hasn’t sunk in yet,” Knupp said, late Tuesday.

The only other township fiscal officer race was uncontested in Dinsmore Township. Tisha Wannemacher got 563 votes.

In other townships, trustee races were uncontested. Voter results are as follows:

• Clinton: Jim Gaier, 1,762 votes, 49.92 percent; Thomas B. Kinninger, 1,768 votes, 50.08 percent.

• Cynthian: Joseph A. Benanzer, 301 votes, 45.95 percent; Robert L. Siegel, 354 votes, 54.05 percent.

• Dinsmore: Richard H. Meyer, 537 votes, 51.19 percent; Michael R. Stewart, 512 votes, 48.81 percent.

• Green: Randy R. Bensman, 205 votes, 51.51 percent; Jeffrey M. Brautigam, 193 votes, 48.49 percent.

• Loramie: Chad Delaet, 464 votes, 50.38 percent; Scott Phlipot, 457 votes, 49.62 percent.

• McLean: Robert H. Hoying, 460 votes, 46.46 percent; Gregory S. Ruhenkamp, 530 votes, 53.54 percent.

• Orange: Dennis J. Martin, 233 votes, 52.36 percent; Bart F. Rogers, 212 votes, 47.64 percent.

• Salem: Richard A. Herrick, 269 votes, 47.03 percent; Scott C. Platfoot, 303 votes, 52.97 percent.

• Turtle Creek: Douglas E. Ike, 237 votes, 50.97 percent; Johathan J. Siegrist, 228 votes, 49.03 percent.

• Van Buren: David J. Berning, 403 votes, 52.54 percent; David Kettler, 364 votes, 47.46 percent.

By Patricia Ann Speelman

Reach the writer at 937-538-4824.

Reach the writer at 937-538-4824.