Darke and Logan Counties vote on various races

By Sheryl Roadcap - sroadcap@aimmediamidwest.com

GREENVILLE — Darke and Logan County had a variety of issues to decide at the polls on Election Day.

In Darke County, Issue 3, the emergency communications levy, was defeated by voters on Tuesday, Nov. 7.

The .45 mill levy, that would be used for emergency communications purposes only, was voted down with 4,662 for and 6,225 against.

The cost for a residential property valued at $100,000 would have been $15.75 annually; the levy was estimated to bring to Darke county $500,000 per year.

The Miami Valley Career Technology Center (MVCTC) in Englewood also failed to gain support from Darke County voters. The levy was voted down by only 50 votes, with 2,944 voting yes, and 2974 voting no. The levy sought voter support from 27 school districts across nine counties, including Darke County.

According to the organization’s website, the requested 1.43 mill levy, would cost have cost the owner of a home valued at $100,000 an additional $4.18 per month.

There were four candidates who filed for the four seats on Versailles Council. The following will be taking office:

• Michael Berger — 474 votes;

• Cory Griesdorn —483 votes;

• Kent Paulus — 484 votes;

• Lance Steinbrunner — 449 votes.

There were also contested trustee races in the newspaper’s coverage area.

Three candidates were seeking two seats in Richland Township. Taking office are Jerry Marker with 150 votes and Matt Oliver with 178 votes. Bob Wagner received 124 votes.

Several trustees were uncontested for office. In Patterson Township, Steve Hoelscher gained 264 votes, and Steven Puthoff attained 258 votes. In Wabash Township, Edward Brand received 217 votes, and Michael Stephan earned 214 votes. In Wayne Township, Dennis Mestemaker received 855 votes, and Kennth Moorman received 917 votes. In York Township, William Barga received 88 votes and Roger E. Heckman attained 71 votes.

Tom Ording took the unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2019, for the Versailles Exempted School District with 1030 votes. His opponent Ruth Peters received 531 votes.

The candidates who will fill the three seats on the Versailles Board of Education are Matt Magoto with 1,011 votes, Jim Raterman with 936 votes, and Jerry Shardo with 899 votes.

In Logan County, Daniel C. Sibold took the council seat for the village of De Graff with 102 votes. Someone will be appointed to take the village’s trustee seat, as no candidate filed for office.

Brian D. Carpenter won the mayor’s race with 62 votes, compared to his counterpart who received 55 votes. The village of Quincy’s council seat was won by Millard Shaffer, with 88 votes. Her opponent Robert Ward received 67 votes.

Three write-in candidates were elected on Tuesday for the Riverside Local School District Board of Education in Logan County. The members who will be taking office are Janet Lynn Siders, who attained 62 votes, Joel Snow with 61 votes and Mark Zumberger with 54 votes.

By Sheryl Roadcap


Reach the writer at 937-538-4823.

Reach the writer at 937-538-4823.