Ohio Soybean Association names Hill Legislator of the Year

Staff report

WORTHINGTON — The Ohio Soybean Association (OSA) has announced that State Rep. Brian Hill, R-Zanesville, has been named one of two Legislators of the Year thanks to his commitment to a science-based approach to water quality policy in Ohio.

“Ensuring that Ohio farmers are a part of the water quality discussion and that any and all policies are science-based is a top priority for OSA,” said Adam Graham, OSA president and soybean farmer from Logan County. “Representative Hill is a farmer himself and understands what it takes. We thank him for his work to achieve both clean water and food production.”

Beyond guiding the nutrient management legislation (Senate Bill 1 and House Bill 59) through the House, Hill championed legislation that provides tax relief to farmers building manure storage by providing a tax credit (House Bill 297), and by championing the current agriculture use valuation (House Bill 398) legislation. Rep. Hill has shown his commitment to continuing to improve Ohio’s reputation as a state that supports agriculture and food production.

“The Ohio Soybean Association has been an instrumental resource to the members of the legislature and I am incredibly honored to receive this award,” said Hill. “As we continue the tasks in front of us, I will remain supportive of this industry and appreciate our continued working relationship.”

Hill is in his second term as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives representing the 97th House District and is the current chair of the Agriculture and Rural Development Committee.

The Ohio Soybean Association is governed by a volunteer farmer board dedicated to education and promotion, as well as to uniting producer interest through support of legislative activities beneficial to the Ohio soybean industry.

Staff report