Anna FFA honors members, supporters

By Ally Bertke - For the Sidney Daily News

ANNA — On March 20, the Anna FFA held their annual banquet. More than 270 members and guests were present this year. The FFA develops and improves its students’ leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural experience and education. This year the officer team put together a presentation that reflected the FFA chapter and its activities as well recognize the success of its members.

The chapter distributed several awards. Among them were fruit sale awards. This year the chapter generated $65,000 in fruit, nuts, beef jerky, and barbeque sales. The top three sellers of the chapter were Riley Huelskamp, Macey Huelskamp, Kirsten Brunswick and Tyler Zimpfer. Each received a plaque for their efforts.

This year’s Star Shop Award was given to Austin Barhorst. Austin has been a great help to Tim Zimpfer and Sarah Heilers throughout the year. The Exceptional Service Award went to Allison McCumons and Taylor Schmidt. They received the award for their dedicated service to the organization and their willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty.

The Star Greenhand Award went to Riley Thobe, Gage Wannemacher and Derek Wolters. All three freshmen have excelled in participation of career development events and have stellar plans for their Supervised Agricultural Experiences.

The Star Chapter Award went to Tyler Zimpfer. He received this award because of his outstanding SAE of raising show hogs and working on the farm

The Anna FFA Senior Scholar Award went to Krista Gehret for maintaining a GPA of 3.941 throughout High School and for her exceptional involvement in the FFA.

The Leadership Award for the Anna FFA went to Olivia Maurer. This young lady has encouraged new FFA members to get involved in various activities and has provided exceptional leadership to the underclassmen.

Owen Michael and Jordan Wells received the DeKalb Award. Owen received this award because of his outstanding CDE of working at Davis Meats. He plans on going to Kansas State University majoring in Animal Science and Industry. Jordan received this award because of his SAE which is raising feeder calves and plans to contain full time employment while pursing and Associates Degree.

Raci Zimpfer received the Honorary Degree. She received this degree for her dedication to the Anna FFA chapter. She has helped the FFA tremendously by adding creative elements to our chapter. She has helped write and review articles and speeches, while also leading our social media effort. She takes great pride in the Monte Carlo Silent Auction that has had great success due to her paramount investment into the program. Her contributions are greatly appreciated.

The Anna FFA Chapter also recognized the new and old officer team.

Officers for the 2016-17 school year recognized were President Olivia Maurer; Vice President Taylor Schmidt; Secretary Macey Huelskamp; Assistant Secretary Emma Freytag; Treasurer Ashley Landis; Assistant Treasurer Zach White; Reporter Emily Albers; Assistant Reporter Ally Bertke; Student Adviser Jake Berning; Sentinel Jordan Wells; CDE Coordinator Owen Michael; and Family Coordinator Allison McCumons.

Officers for the 2017-18 school year recognized were President Emma Freytag; Vice President Zach White; Assistant Vice President Macey Huelskamp; Secretary Ashley Landis; Assistant Secretary Emily Albers; Treasurer Tyler Zimpfer; Assistant Treasurer Lexi Wells; Reporter Ally Bertke; Assistant Reporter Grace Maurer; Student Adviser Jarred Seigle; Sentinel Cole Albers; CDE Coordinator Kirsten Brunswick;and Family Coordinator Ashley Heitkamp.

Congratulations to all the award recipients on their hard work, leadership and achievements. Thank you to all students, guests, and honorees for coming and supporting all of the Anna FFA accomplishments throughout the year.

By Ally Bertke

For the Sidney Daily News

The writer is the Anna FFA reporter.

The writer is the Anna FFA reporter.