Trupointe, Sunrise name new board

Staff report

PIQUA — Both Sunrise and Trupointe Cooperative memberships have confirmed majority support of a merger that will join them officially on Sept. 1 of this year.

Officials said much progress has been made since the special meetings of March 7, which tallied the results.

Immediately following those meetings, both cooperatives’ boards of directors held council to select six representatives from each current board who will represent the new entity. Under the new cooperative, the board of directors will represent membership through districts and are as follows:

Chairman John Lowry, of Wapakoneta, Auglaize County, District 1; Vice Chairman Pete Hazel, of Wakeman, Huron County, District 3; Secretary Gene Cook of Clyde, Seneca County, District 1; Assistant Secretary Doug Swaim, of Cedarville, Green County, District 2; Rick Brill, of Wellington, Lorain County, District 3; Mike Kocher, of Galion, Marion County, District 3; James Metzger, of Wapakoneta, Auglaize County, at-large; Bart Neer, of South Vienna, Clark County, District 2; Ben Ritz, of Attica, Seneca County, District 1; Steve Snider, of Piqua, Miami County, at-large; Dean Sweeting, of North Fairfield, Huron County, at-large; and Kirk Walker, of New Vienna, Clinton County, District 2.

The newly formed board of directors made immediate decisions including identifying the entity name and headquarters. On Sept. 1, operations will begin as Sunrise Cooperative Inc., with all corporate functions being completed from offices in Fremont and Piqua.

George Secor, the presiding CEO of Sunrise Cooperative, will lead the new entity. The newly combined entity will operate more than 40 facilities with more than 400 full-time employees and begin operations with total sales just under $900 million. Products and services will be provided in agronomy supply, animal nutrition, grain marketing, power fuels, propane and turf and ornamental.

Staff report