SHS National Honor Society inducts new members

SIDNEY – Thirty-five juniors and seniors at Sidney High School joined the National Honor Society during an induction ceremony and reception held Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019.

To qualify for National Honor Society, students must have a 3.5 grade point average or better, provide service and leadership in both the school and community and be honest, responsible, fair, courteous, tolerant and cooperative.

NHS Adviser Kelly Thorne greeted visitors and introduced Sidney High School Principal Brian Powderly who congratulated students on being selected members of the National Honor Society. He shared a story of a chef who taught his daughter about resiliency when faced with a challenge.

The current NHS officers led the ceremony, speaking about the principles of the society. President Colin Freistuhler spoke about scholarship; Vice President Josh Harlett spoke about service; Secretary Alyssa Chavez spoke of leadership; and treasurer Sara Gibson spoke about character. A dessert reception followed the ceremony for the new members and their families.

Seniors inducted into NHS included Brooke Elsner, Madison Heffelfinger, Megan Piatt and Jeffrey Overholser.

Juniors inducted into NHS included Jenna Allen, Lea Baldwin, Ian Bonifas, Lydia Brewer, Katie Butts, Clay Carter, Natalie Gary, Katherine Gonzales, Collin Jones, Devon Jones, Nathan Johnson, Mitchell Larger, Thomas Leonard, Meredith Martin, Sarah Miu, Hailey New, Conner Nuss, Whitney Petty, Mackenzy Robinson, Jay Sherman, Camryn Smith, Kaitlyn Smith, Nathan Topp, Hallie Truesdale, Kaitlyn Van Zant, Kyah Vondenhuevel, Trey Werntz, Rosalyn Weymer, Delaney Wilson, Reece Wilson and Nobel Zhou.

The new inductees join 24 current members.

The SHS NHS Faculty Council includes Chris Adams, Mitch Hoying, Joanna Hiatt, Mike Keiser and Ian Klingler.