Hardin-Houston celebrates academic “All A’s”

HOUSTON — Friday night, Jan. 29, 2016, the Hardin-Houston Local School District publicly celebrated the academic success of several elementary students who were in attendance during the Wild Cat home basketball game against the Russia Raiders.

That evening between the JV and varsity games, 15 students from grades three to six, were individually honored for earning “All A’s” for the first semester of the 2015-2016 school year.

The students accepted their certificates and congratulatory handshakes from Elementary Principal Sara Roseberry and Board members: Joel Knouff, Steve Mowery, Wes Maier and Superintendent Larry Claypool. The presentation caused a standing ovation and an enthusiastic response from the home and visiting Russia crowd. At the calling of their names, each honoree individually walked to center court to receive their certificate. In addition to the Board and Administration, the H-H Varsity and Junior Varsity Boy’s Basketball team led by Coach John Willoughby high-fived the honorees for their leadership in academic excellence and added a nice touch of student athletic affirmation to the event.

“I’m thankful that we have some small way to recognize the students who work hard to make schoolwork a top priority and are able to achieve so much,” Elementary Principal Sara Roseberry said.

Board member and newly installed Vice President, Steve Mowery said, “It’s always nice to recognize the students and show them that their hard work and dedication to their academics is appreciated by members of the community.”

This is the fourth consecutive year that the newly created Academic Booster Club has honored students in a public athletic home forum.

“What a special moment for those students when they can be recognized publicly outside of the classroom for superior work within the classroom,” said H-H Superintendent Larry Claypool. He was excited for the opportunity to incorporate both academics and athletics at a community-wide event.

“We are proud of all of our students. Hopefully, events like this will encourage them to continue to strive for academic excellence,” Claypool said.

Students honored include:

Sixth grade: Devin Barker, Ryan Ely, Ava Knouff, Callie Lentz, Megan Maier, and Payton New.

Fifth grade: Emily Hollinger and Alex Kellersmith.

Fourth grade: Ella Crim, Emma Duncum, Katie Maier, Caleb Strunk, and Rusty Vondenhuevel.

Third grade: Addie Mowery and Reagan Steiner.

This article was submitted by Hardin-Houston Superintendent Larry Claypool. He can be reached at [email protected]

This article was submitted by Hardin-Houston Superintendent Larry Claypool. He can be reached at [email protected]