Auglaize students chosen as scholastic award candidates

Staff report

WAPAKONETA — In honor of Franklin B. Walter, a Scholastic Award Program was established by the Ohio County Superintendents’ Association to promote student achievements and to recognize outstanding students in Ohio’s schools. Franklin B. Walter served as Superintendent of Public Instruction for the State of Ohio from March, 1977, until August of 1991. Throughout his career, he personally and professionally exemplified concern for young people, as well as dedication to the improvement of education.

In Auglaize County, an outstanding senior scholar who exemplifies commitment to academic achievement, personal goals and community service, is selected from each of the six high schools. Each scholar submits an application, which includes a transcript, standardized test scores, lists of activities and awards, and a written statement of professional and personal, short-term and long-term goals.

All six student scholars will be honored at the annual Franklin B. Walter Award Banquet and Ceremony held at Wapakoneta High School on Wednesday, April 6, 2016. Each of the scholars invites a teacher who has been an influential educator. Those six teachers will be recognized for their impact on students’ lives.

Finally, through a judging process, one of the six student scholars is chosen to represent Auglaize County as their Franklin B. Waller All Scholastic Award winner. The winner and his/her parents are invited to attend a special recognition luncheon to be held in Columbus on April 13, 2016.

Franklin B. Walter Candidates and Honored Teachers:

Minster: Hannah Schmitmeyer; Pam Grew, honored teacher; Mike Lee, principal

New Bremen: Thomas Zhang; Jennifer Sniegowski, honored teacher; Brian Pohl, principal

New Knoxville: Serena Hostetler; Mary Wiest, honored teacher; Jenny Fleddajohann, principal

St. Marys City: Alexa Sutton; Shaun Ricker, honored teacher; Bill Ruane, principal

Wapakoneta City: Kylie Timmerman; Cortney Rogers, honored teacher; Scott Minnig, principal

Waynesfield-Goshen: Jannekl Case; Joe Foster, honored teacher; Becky Diglia, principal

Staff report