Upper Miami Valley students compete in virtual State Science Day

PIQUA — Forty-seven students from 12 local school districts recently competed successfully in the second Online “Virtually Judged” Ohio Academy of Science State Science Day held in late May of this year. After 71 years of live State Science Day competitions, 2020 and 2021 required an online platform due to the COVID-19 restrictions on large events. Over 600 students from across the state participated in the competition where a total of almost one-half million dollars was distributed as scholarships and awards. Students presented independent research projects in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

All of the local students did exceptionally well with twenty-eight receiving superior scores. Receiving Superior ratings were: from Anna High School – Caden Cruset, Riley Gaydosh, Ben Kovacs, Josephine Gehret, Brook Steinke; from Ansonia High School – Marissa Shook; from Arcanum High School – Karr Stump; from Bethel High School – Lisa Sebastian; from Lehman Catholic High School, Sidney – Adith George, Valerie Rindler, David Rossman, Emilee VanSkiver; from Miami East High School – Katie Weddle; from Milton-Union High School – Mikayla Lair, Micah Tracy; from Milton-Union Middle School – Jacob Fraley, Liam Hartley; from Tippecanoe Middle School – Parker Kaibas, Sadhil Mehta, Junya Sakumoto, Carson Jackson, Elias Stienecker; from L.T. Ball Intermediate, Tipp City – Audrey Jackson, Aubrey Ernst, Hailey Everhart, Elanor Van Oss; from Versailles High School – Kennedy Hughes, Lauren Menke.

Twenty students earned special project awards totaling $2,775, two $1,000 Stone Lab Field Course scholarships, three $1,000 OTTA 529 Plan Scholarships and a renewable college scholarship of $2,000 (up to four years) and one for $1,500 (up to four years). Awards and scholarships earned included: from Anna High School – Riley Gaydosh, Stone Laboratory Field Course Scholarship; Josephine Gehret, Governor’s Award in Information Science and Technology Research, 4th place; Dylan Seigle, EWI Award in Material Science, third place and $25, Governor’s Award in Advanced Materials, third place and $500; from Ansonia High School – Marissa Shook, Nestle Product Technology Center Food Science and Engineering Award, third place and $200; from Bethel High School – Lisa Sebastian, JLG Excellence in Engineering Award, first place and $100; from L.T. Ball Intermediate, Tipp City – Aubrey Ernst and Audrey Jackson, Ohio Tuition Trust Authority 529 Savings Scholarship, $1,000 each; from Lehman Catholic High School – Adith George, University of Akron renewable scholarship $1,500; Valerie Rindler, American Chemical Society – Columbus Section award, third place and $200; Emily VanSkiver, OVMAA Veterinary Medicine Award, Honorable Mention; Anna Marie Stiver. Ohio Northern Univ. renewable scholarship, $2,000; from Milton-Union High School – Mikayla Lair, Ohio Psychological Association Behavioral Science Award, $250; from Milton-Union Middle School – Jacob Fraley, Broadcom Masters invitation, Ohio Tuition Trust Authority 529 Savings Scholarship, $1,000; from Tippecanoe Middle School – Carson Jackson and Elias Stienecker, Interdisciplinary Research Award, plaque, Broadcom Masters invitation, Thomas Richmond Jr. Data Driven Award, first place and $100; Sadhil Mehta, American Chemical Society-Columbus Section Award, $500; Parker Kaibas, Broadcom Masters invitation, Dr. Lynn E. Elfner Young Scientist Award $100; from Versailles High School – Lauren Menke, Statistical Analysis Award from American Statistical Assn, first place, Future Physician-Scientist Award from OSU College of Medicine, second place and $250; Kennedy Hughes, Future Physician-Scientist Award from OSU College of Medicine, first place and $500, Nationwide Children’s Hospital Research Institute Trainee Assn. second place and $100; Ethan Varner, Stone Laboratory Field Course Scholarship, Milt Austin Aquatic Science Award, third place and $50. State Science Day multi-year participants were also recognized, including Lisa Sebastian, Bethel High School – seven year trophy; Julie Sebastian, Bethel Middle School and Ash William, Greenville High School – five year trophy; and Lauren Menke, Versailles High School, Marissa Shook, Ansonia High School, Sadhil Mehta, Tippecanoe Middle School, four year trophies.

In addition, two schools received the Harold C. Shaw Memorial Outstanding School Award Trophy – Anna High School and Tippecanoe Middle School.

Upper Miami Valley Science Days provides the opportunity for students, grades 5-12, in Champaign, Darke, Miami and Shelby Counties, to complete and present original scientific research. This program is organized and supported by many area schools, teachers, parents, Edison Community College, and a number of businesses, professionals, community organizations, and other interested individuals. For additional information, go to the UMVSD website at: www.ohioumvsd.com.