Community college students named to All-Ohio Academic Team

COLUMBUS – More than 60 students from Ohio’s 23 community colleges were honored for their excellence in academics, leadership and community service by Ohio’s Chancellor of Higher Education Randy Gardner as part of the 2021 All-Ohio Academic Team. The event was held as part of celebrations of Community College Month in Ohio.

“Ohio’s community colleges provide a welcoming environment where students can thrive and succeed even if that may not have been the case in previous educational settings,” said Jack Hershey, President and CEO of the Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC). “We are so proud of these outstanding students, our best and brightest, for their academic excellence and we look forward to seeing them become leaders in their careers.”

The All-Ohio Academic Team program is a collaboration between the OACC, Phi Theta Kappa national honor society and Honda, the event sponsor.

“The achievements of these students reflect their personal drive and commitment, as well as the quality educational experience and support that is characteristic of our state’s community colleges. They are truly the gateways to a successful next chapter for so many Ohioans — those entering from high school, those pursuing a certificate or degree after a break from learning, or those looking to retrain or upskill,” Chancellor Gardner said. “Members of this year’s All-Ohio Academic Team will be tomorrow’s leaders who will make their communities and our state even stronger.”

The top-performing students were nominated by college faculty, staff and leaders. Students recognized as first-team honorees will receive $500 scholarships, while second-team members earn $250 scholarships to assist students transferring on to universities to complete their bachelor’s degree requirements. The All-Ohio Academic Team also includes high-achieving students who are planning to move directly into the workforce will also be recognized and receive awards.

Local colleges with students who were recognized include:

First Team, Torie Bockey, Rhodes State College, and Mackenzie Rader, Rhodes State College.

Second Team, Erica Uhlenhake, Rhodes State College, and Rebekah Schmersal, Rhodes State College.

Third Team, Logan Chaney, Edison State Community College, Layne Claudy, Edison Community College, Matthew Defalco, Edison State Community College, Elise Hays, Edison Community College, and Alexis Quinlisk, Rhodes State College.