Russia students receive awards, scholarships

Staff report

RUSSIA — Russia Local School junior high and high school students received scholarships and awards at a recent awards program.

• Naval Academy Scholarship & Award: Lauren Heaton

• United States Marine Corps Scholastic Achievement Award: Weston Lavy and Molly Kearns

• Distinguished Athlete Award: Caleb Ball and Lauren Heaton

• Semper Fidells Music Award: Joran Ball and Erin Gaerke

• Ray Kroc (McDonald’s) Scholarship & Award: Alicia George, $100 scholarship and medal.

• Father Joseph Wolfer Scholastic Athlete Award: Jonah Counts

• Envirothon County trophy/plaque, Ohio plaque, and Shelby County trophy:

The Russia Envirothon Team #1 was first in the county, second overall, and is going to the state competition in June. The team consists of Andrew Ball, Jordan Ball, Amanda Frazier, Erin Gaerke and Weston Lavy.

• Knights of Columbus, Excellence in Christian Living Award and Nurturing Network Mother’s Club Scholarship, $100 each and certificate: Erin Gaerke and Mark Siefring

• OSU Extension 4H Program “Leadership Award”: Erin Gaerke, Luke Bohman, and Lauren Heaton

• American Legion Buckeye Boys State and Girls State: Buckeye Girls State/Piqua Post 0184: Tiffany Hatcher

• Community Blood Center:

(Red cord packet) Blood donors (three or more times): Elizabeth Adams, Clay Borchers, Amanda Frazier, Erin Gaerke, Alicia George, Rachel Heuing, Rudy Langenkamp, Cassandra Pleiman, Zachary Sherman, Joseph Stickel, Harley Supinger, Gunnar Young

• Honda Award: Weston Lavy

• Perfect attendance award:

Seventh-grade: Jacob Goubeaux; Eighth-grade: Alana Gariety, Natalie Klosterman, Caleb Monnin; 11th-grade: Audrey Gariety

• Honor Roll Awards:

Honor Roll 11 reporting periods (post secondary students two years): Andrew Ball, Jordan Ball, Trevor Monnin, Mark Siefring, Harley Supinger, Karissa Voisard.

Honor Roll 13 Reporting periods (post secondary student one year): Cassandra Pleiman.

Honor Roll 15 Reporting periods (at Russia School all four yrs): Elizabeth Adams, Kara Barlage, Lukas Busse, Ellie Fiessinger, Sawyer Francis, Amanda Frazier, Erin Gaerke, Alicia George, Jared Goubeaux, Lauren Heaton, Luke Heaton, Rachel Heuing, Molly Kearns, Rudy Langenkamp and Weston Lavy.

Honor roll special mention, 10/11 reporting periods: Connor Monnin and Jordan Swartz; 14/15 grading periods: Evan York

• 4.0 GPA Award for all 3 reporting periods this year:

Grade 7: Braden Hiatt, Jenna Monnin, Katelyn Monnin, Kendall Monnin and Becca Seger.

Grade 8: Andrew DeLoye, Natalie Klosterman, Dawson Luthman, Andrea Monnin, Sarah Pinchot, and Jason Siefring.

Grade 9: Raven Boerger, Shea Borchers, Augustine Cordonnier, Jenna Cordonnier, Emma Delaet, Anna Fiessinger, Kennedie Goubeaux, Lee Magoto, Claire Meyer, Henry Tumbusch, Hannah Vallandingham, and Grace Voisard.

Grade 10: Luke Dahlinghaus, Megan Frazier, Claudia Heitkamp, Rebecca Pinchot, Olivia Quinter, Matthew Siefring, and Cameo Wilson.

Grade 11: Madison Borchers, Samuel Cook, Clay George, Shaelyn Goubeaux, Maria Herron, Chloe Sherman, and Audrey Voisard.

Grade 12: Kara Barlage, Lukas Busse, Ellie Fiessinger, Amanda Frazier, Erin Gaerke, Lauren Heaton, Molly Kearns, Rudy Langenkamp, and Weston Lavy.

4.0 GPA Award for “1st Semester” this year (PSEOP students only): Grace Saunders, Dylan Cordonnier, Tiffany Hatcher, Andrew Ball, Jordan Ball, Mark Siefring, and Karissa Voisard.

• Local scholarships:

Russia Staff Scholarship – $900: Elizabeth Adams

Student Council Scholarship – $400: Jared Goubeaux

Pepsi-Cola Scholarship – $300: Mark Siefring

Russia Wellness Scholarship – $500 each: Erin Gaerke and Amanda Frazier

FTA Scholarship – $150 and four-year FTA Award: Erin Gaerke

• Academic letters:

Ninth: Savannah Albers, Raven Boerger, Shea Borchers, Augustine Cordonnier, Jenna Cordonnier, Madison Courter, Emma Delaet, Anna Fiessinger, Carter Francis, Samantha Gaerke, Gregory Goubeaux, Kennedie Goubeaux, Kaylee Hiatt, Daniel Kearns, Lee Magoto, Claire Meyer, Justin Seger, Henry Tumbusch, Hannah Vallandingham, Grace Voisard

10th-grade Peter Art, Xavier Cordonnier, Claudia Counts, Luke Dahlinghaus, Jack Dapore, Thomasina Francis, Megan Frazier, Claudia Heitkamp, Alexis Monnin, Madeline Moorman, Rebecca Pinchot, Dion Puthoff, Olivia Quinter, Grace Saunders, Matthew Siefring, Carter Stueve, Cameo Wilson;

11th- grade: These already received their “Academic R” letter: Drew Alt, Madison Borchers, Samuel Cook, Dylan Cordonnier, Christina Gaerke, Audrey Gariety, Clay George, Shaelyn Goubeaux, Tiffany Hatcher, Maria Herron, Kelsey Magoto, Claira McEldowney, Ethan Monnier, Trenton Monnin, Tyler Robinson, Alex Seger, Chloe Sherman, Drew Sherman, Katie Swartz, Emma Vallandingham, Audrey Voisard; These juniors received first year: Kate Cook, Brant Coverstone, Julia Monnin, Cole Tebbe, Rachel York;

12th-grade: Elizabeth Adams, Andrew Ball, Jordan Ball, Kara Barlage, Lukas Busse, Ellie Fiessinger, Sawyer Francis, Amanda Frazier, Erin Gaerke, Alicia George, Jared Goubeaux, Lauren Heaton, Luke Heaton, Rachel Heuing, Molly Kearns, Rudy Langenkamp, Weston Lavy, Connor Monnin, Samantha Monnin, Trevor Monnin, Cassandra Pleiman, Zachary Sherman, Mark Siefring, Harley Supinger, Jordan Swartz, Karissa Voisard, Evan York, Josh York; One senior received her first-year award: Hannah Cohee

Four-year Academic Achievement Award: Elizabeth Adams, Alicia George, Lauren Heaton, Luke Heaton, Rachel Heuing, Rudy Langenkamp, Trevor Monnin, Cassandra Pleiman, Mark Siefring, Karissa Voisard

Four-year Academic Achievement Award and cumulative GPA of 4.0: Kara Barlage, Lukas Busse, Ellie Fiessinger, Amanda Frazier and Erin Gaerke.

Four-year Academic Achievement Award, cumulative GPA of 4.0 and Highest Honor Roll 4.0 Award: Andrew Ball, Jordan Ball, Molly Kearns and Weston Lavy

• Top student awards:

Spanish: Augustine Cordonnier, Megan Frazier, and Maddie Borchers

Family Consumer Science: Abigail Grillot and Becky Pinchot

Music: Becca Seger

Industrial Technology: Sarah Pinchot and Justin Seger

Science: Austin Cordonnier, Sarah Pinchot, Augustine Cordonnier, Cameo Wilson, Lauren Heaton, Weston Lavy, Brant Coverstone, and Molly Kearns

Health: Raven Boerger

Social Studies: Kendall Monnin, Caleb Monnin, Claire Meyer, Shae Goubeaux, Luke Dahlinghaus, Molly Kearns, and Erin Gaerke

Math: Braden Hiatt, Caleb Monnin, Claire Meyer, Megan Frazier, Molly Kearns, Erin Gaerke, Augustine Cordonnier, Madison Borchers, and Kara Barlage

Business/Computers: Peter Art, Erin Gaerke, Rebecca Pinchot, and Matt Siefring

Language Arts: Jenna Monnin, Andrea Monnin, Austin Cordonnier, and Clare Caldwell

English: Hannah Vallandingham, Becky Pinchot, Emma Vallandingham, and Amanda Frazier

Art: Becca Seger, Andrea Monnin, Claudia Counts, Ellie Fiessinger, Becky Pinchot, and Lauren Monnin

UVCC student: Hannah Cohee

Staff report