Anna HS to present ‘Oliver!’

Staff report

ANNA — The Anna High School Drama Club will present the musical, “Oliver!,” March 10, 11, and 12, at the school.

This international stage sensation tells about the 13-year-old orphan, Oliver Twist, who falls in with a group of street-urchin pickpockets led by the Artful Dodger and masterminded by the criminal, Fagin. When Oliver’s intended mark, Mr. Brownlow, takes pity on the lad and offers him a home, Fagin’s henchman, Bill Sikes, plots to kidnap the boy to keep him from talking.

With songs like “Food Glorious Food,” “Where is Love?,” “Consider Yourself,” “As Long as He Needs Me,” “I’d Do Anything,” “Fine Life,” and “Reviewing the Situation,” “Oliver!” is a musical classic.

Performances on Friday, March 10, and Saturday, March 11, are at 7 p.m. On March 12, the matinee performance will begin at 2 p.m. Tickets cost $8.

In the cast are Wyatt Fogt and Alex Poeppelman as Oliver; Autumn Peterson as Bet; Ben Wical as Mr. Bumble; Shelby McVey as the widow Corney; Nicholas Nowlin as Mr. Sowerberry; Sami Schulze as Mrs. Sowerberry; Caleb Gaier as Artful Dodger; Alex Rose as Fagin; Stephanie Esser as Nancy; Sam Sharp as Bill Sikes; Lizzy Witer as Mrs. Bedwin; Maddy Weiskittel as Charlotte; Patrick Toller as Noah Claypole and Nathan Peoppelman as Mr. Brownlow.

Madison Hockaday, Ashleigh Jurosic, Isaiah Pleiman and Rachel Shoemaker are soloists. Mackensie Littlefield serves as the kids captain. In the chorus are Derek Arling, Dominic Bolin, Ryan Bruns, Tyler Carity, Isaac Dodds, Justin Esser, Caleb Gaier, Joel Gaier, Wyatt Knouff, Jake Kovacs, Skyler Ludington, Evan McVey, Nicholas Nowlin, Nathan Osborne, Isaiah Pleiman, Evan Poeppelman, Nathan Poeppelman, Noah Rioch and Alex Rose.

Also Samuel Sasko, Jarred Seigle, Preston Shannom, Sam Sharp, Patrick Toller, Ben Wical, Grant Carity, Wyatt Fogt, Ethan Freytag, Carter Gordon, Derek Madden, Alex Poeppelman, Dylan Seigle, Rylan Egbert, Bailey Althauser, Molly Batchelder, Emily Bertke, Jennifer Blackburn, Alicia Brunswick, Kirsten Brunswick, Lauren Elliott, Stephanie Esser, Emma Freytag, Emily Holt, Madison Hockaday, Ashleigh Jurosic, Carley King and Korteney Kitchen.

Also Autumn Lampert, Mackensie Littlefield, Savanna Manger, Samantha Martin, Allison McCumons, Maddie McEldowney, Shelby McVey, Kelsey Meyer, Morgan Meyer, Autumn Peterson, Sami Schulze, Hannah Shoemaker, Rachel Shoemaker, Morgyn Shoffner, Lily Toller, Maddy Weiskittel, Kierstyn Williamson and Lizzy Witer.

Staff report