Edison honors long-time employees

Staff report

PIQUA — Seventeen employees were recognized for a combined total of 185 years of service in their careers at Edison State Community College’s 38th annual employee recognition banquet, March 3.

Among them were Andrea Francis, of Fort Loramie and Amy Schwable, of Houston.

Enrollment Managers Stacey Bean and Christina Raterman served as mistresses of ceremonies of the event and presented the honorees with awards. Kara Myers, coordinator of employee engagement and talent acquisition, hosted the event and Dr. Doreen Larson, president, presented honorees with gifts and personally thanked each of them for their commitment to Edison State.

The following employees were recognized: Becky Pepiot and Susie Wise, 25 years; Ruth Barney, Pam Gibellino and Chuck Steel, 15 years; Donna Argo, Karen Baker, Susan Miller, Rick Roberts, Pat Shade and Tony Spencer, 10 years; Amy Barr, Tom Burelison, Andrea Francis, Brian Leingang, Amy Schwable and Sharon Thomas, five years.

“The banquet made for a wonderful evening in which we were able to blend reflections of the past with appreciation of our colleagues,” said Larson. “Stacey and Christina embodied the joy and good humor that makes Edison State a very special place to work.”

During the banquet, it was announced that a portrait of Elizabeth “Libbie” Eyer would be added to Edison State’s Wall of Memories. Eyer, who recently died, was selected for her unwavering commitment and willingness to go above and beyond her daily tasks to make Edison State a better place to learn and work.

The Wall of Memories, established in 1998 by members of the Academic Forum, is dedicated to former Edison State employees who significantly impacted the lives of students, faculty and staff and therefore will forever be recognized as part of the college community.

Staff report