NK school board talks personnel

By Patricia Ann Speelman - pspeelman@aimmedianetwork.com

NEW KNOXVILLE — The New Knoxville Board of Education dealt mostly with personnel matters during its regular meeting, April 24.

The board hired John Bernstein as a substitute teacher.

Members then accepted the resignations of teachers CJ Brown and Jerry VanderHorst and media center specialist Donna Hoge. Hoge is retiring and seeking re-employment as the media center specialist. The board will host a public meeting to discuss her re-employment durng the regular board session scheduled for May 22 at 7 p.m. in the school library.

The board renewed one-year contracts for the 2017-2018 school year of Stephanie Boyle Fledderjohann, Karla Eilerman, Casey Phillips, John Sailer, James Schnarre, Michelle Peters, Chris Schroer, Sondra Thatcher and Joe Weaver.

It was announced that Amy Reineke was issued her five-year school treasurer sicense, April 24. It will expire June 20, 2021.

In other business, the board approved a donation of $300 by the Grand Lake Volleyball Club and approved a contract with the Auglaize county Health Department for nursing services.

Following an executive session, the board approved the negotiated agreement with the New Knoxville Education Association for teachers’ services through the 2019-2020 schooll year.

By Patricia Ann Speelman


Reach the writer at 937-538-4824.

Reach the writer at 937-538-4824.