All-SW districtteams selected


Staff report

The All-Southwest District football teams were announced recently, after voting by a media panel, and county team were well-represented when the list was revealed.

In Division 2, Sidney offensive tackle Lorenzo Taborn, 6-foot-4, 300 pounds, was named to the second team on offense.

In addition, three of his teammates were named to the Honorable Mention list, including freshman quarterback Andre Gordon, senior wideout Darryl McNeal and sophomore defensive lineman Devon Rogers.


Second team — Lorenzo Taborn, senior, offensive line

Honorable mention — Darryl McNeal, senior; Andre Gordon, freshman; Devon Rogers, sophomore.

Division 5

In D-5, three players from Anna were named to the team, including two on the first team.

They included senior Blake Stephens as a defensive back, and senior punter Kain Luthman. Stephens had five interceptions for the Rockets this season, and Luthman averaged 41 yards per punt this season.

Colin Wuebker, a junior who also had five interceptions this season, was named second team at defensive back.

Collin Peters of Versailles, a senior lineman, was a first-team pick on offense, and lineman Gavin Mills, linebacker Jonny Moorman and defensive back Corey Dieringer were all named to the second team.

One other Tiger, Eric Knapke, was named to the Honorable Mention list.


First team — Collin Peters, Versailles, senior running back; Blake Stephens, Anna, senior defensive back; Kain Luthman, Anna, senior punter.

Second team — Kyle Gigandet, Versailles, senior, offensive line; Gavin Mills, Versailles, senior, defensive line; Jonny Moorman, Versailles, junior linebacker; Corey Dieringer, Versailles, senior defensive back; Colin Wuebker, Anna, junior defensive back.

Honorable mention — Eric Knapke, Versailles.

Division 7

Because of the limited number of D-7 schools, there was just a first team and honorable mention chosen.

On the first team offense, Connor Cotterman of Riverside led the way. After being named the offensive and defensive player of the year in the Northwest Central Conference, he was also named the Southwest District Player of the Year on offense. He rushed for 1,530 yards and scored 21 tackles during the regular season, leading the Pirates to a 9-1 record and a postseason berth.

He was joined on the first team by teammate Trey Long as a lineman, senior Dylan Eilerman of Fort Loramie on the line, senior kicker Josh Siegel of Loramie, and quarterback Stephen Monnin, a senior from Lehman.

Monnin rushed for 915 yards and threw for another 1,304 for Lehman.

Named to the first team on defense were junior lineman Nate Pleiman of Fort Loramie, junior linebacker Dan Berning of Loramie, senior linebacker Jacob Kitzmiller of Loramie, and junior punter Cody Gasson of Loramie; sophomore defensive back Owen Smith of Lehman, and sophomore lineman Gaven Anderson of Riverside, and senior defensive back Shawn Crawford of Riverside.

Honorable mention selections included Drew Wehrman of Fort Loramie, Hunter Kreglow of Riverside and Ian Smith of Lehman.

Tim McGill, the Riverside head coach who led the Pirates to a league co-championship, a playoff berth and the school’s first-ever playoff victory, was named the District Coach of the Year.


(First team only)

Offense— Dylan Eilerman, Fort Loramie, senior, lineman; Trey Long, Riverside, senior, lineman; Stephen Monnin, Lehman, senior, quarterback; Connor Cotterman, Riverside, senior, running back; Josh Siegel, Fort Loramie, senior, kicker.

Defense — Gaven Anderson, Riverside, sophomore, lineman; Nate Pleiman, Fort Loramie, junior, lineman; Dan Berning, Fort Loramie, junior, linebacker; Jacob Kitzmiller, Fort Loramie, senior, linebacker; Shawn Crawford, Riverside, senior, defensie back; Owen Smith, Lehman, sophomore, defensive back; Cody Gasson, Fort Loramie, junior, punter.

Honorable mention — Drew Wehrman, Fort Loramie; Hunter Kreglow, Riverside; Ian Smith, Lehman.

Offensive Player of the Year — Connor Cotterman, Riverside

Coach of the Year — Tim McGill, Riverside.