NB soph is MAC Player of the Year

Minster’s Stechschulte Coach of the Year





Staff report

New Bremen sophomore Paige Jones has been named the Midwest Athletic Conference girls basketball Player of the Year, it was announced this week.

Jones has been a key player in New Bremen’s 18-5 season to date. That includes a runner-up finish in the conference. She averages 11.7 points per game along with 5.7 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game.

In addition, Minster head coach Nann Stechschulte was named the MAC Coach of the Year after leading her Lady Wildcats to a perfect 9-0 record in conference play. They are 18-4 overall going into their first tournament game on Saturday.

League champion Minster had two girls named to the first team and three more to the second.

First-team selections included freshman center Courtney Prenger, who averages 10.4 points and 6.6 rebounds per game, and junior Rosie Westerbeck, whop is at 10.1 points and 2.3 assists per game.

Second-team picks are senior Leanne Huelsman, junior Lindsay Roetgerman and senior Hannah Schmitmeyer. Roetgerman averages 7.6 points and 4.2 rebounds, Schmitmeyer is at 6.0 points and 6.7 rebounds per game, and Huelsman also scores six per game along with 2.3 assists.

Jones was joined on the first team by teammate Debbie Paul, a senior who averages 10.8 points and 7.9 rebounds per game this season,

Another Lady Cardinal, Alyse Clune, was named to the second team. She averages 9.4 points and 4.9 assists per game.

New Knoxville had two players named to the first team in senior Rachel Leffel and junior Kenzie Schroer. Leffel averaged 9.2 points and 5.7 rebounds per game, and Schroer 11.2 points per game.

Versailles had two named to the first team and another to the second.

First-team selections include senior Lauren Monnin, 12.2 points and 4.8 rebounds per game, and sophomore Kamie McEldowney, 10.5 points per contest.

Daniel Winner was named to the second team. A sophomore, she averages 10.7 points and 6.8 rebounds per game.

Marion Local’s Emily Mescher was named to the first team. She averages 12 points and 8.6 rebounds per game.

Midwest Athletic Conference

2015-2016 All-Conference Teams

First team — Kendra Siefring, senior, Fort Recovery; Whitney Will, junior, Fort Recovery, Emily Mescher, senior, Marion Local; Courtney Prenger, freshman, Minster; Rosie Westerbeck, junior, Minster; Paige Jones, sophomore, New Bremen; Debbie Paul, senior, New Bremen; Rachel Leffel, senior, New Knoxville; Kenzie Schroer, junior, New Knoxville; Madilynn Schulte, junior, Delphos St. John’s; Lauren Monnin, senior, Versailes; Kami McEldowney, sophomore, Versailles.

Second team — Maura Hoying, sophomore, Coldwater; Denise Schwieterman, senior, Coldwater; Grace Thien, sophomore, Fort Recovery; Leanne Huelsman, senior, Minster; Lindsay Roetgerman, junior, Minster; Hannah Schmitmeyer, senior, Minster; Alyse Cune, senior, New Bremen; Haley Hawk, sophomore, Parkway; Ellie Stammen, senior, St. Henry; Sydney Fischbach, senior, Delphos St. John’s; Lexie Hayes, senior, Delphos St. John’s, Danielle Winner, sophomore, Versailles.

Honorable Mention — Kourtney Diller, sophomore, Coldweater; Carley Stone, sophomore, Fort Recovery; Allie Prueter, senior, Marion Local; Jane Homan, sophomore, New Bremen; Abby Lageman, senior, New Knoxville; Sarah Gehron, junior, Parkway; Jacey King, senior, St. Hehnry Jessia Geise, junior, Delphos St. John’s; Camille Watren, junior, Versailles.


Minster’s Stechschulte Coach of the Year