Three area athletes amongOHSAA scholarship winners


Staff report

Three area athletes were among the 36 to receive $1,000 college scholarships from the Ohio High School Athletic Association, it was announced Tuesday.

The selections are made by each of the OHSAA’s six district athletic boards, and the program is in its 24th year.

Among the honorees are two from Marion Local and the Northwest District, including Kyle Homan and Emily Mescher. Also chosen as a recipient, from the Southwest District, is Kristin Langston of Versailles.

Each of the 36 honorees will receive $1,000 awards, including six (one from each district) who will receive an OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholarship. The point system used in each district is described below. Nike and Molten have also contributed to the OHSAA scholarship program.

Scholar-athlete recipients are selected based on a point system which rewards students for grade point averages, class rank, ACT or SAT scores, varsity letters earned, and individual and team athletic honors.

The number of scholarship recipients from each district are based upon the number of schools within the district. The recipients were selected by special committees within each of the OHSAA’s six athletic districts. Individuals who receive athletic scholarships from NCAA Division I or II institutions or appointees to military academies are not eligible for an award.