Westerbeck, SchroerAll-Northwest District





Staff report

The Associated Press All-Northwest District boys and girls basketball teams were announced this week, and two Midwest Athletic Conference standouts made the first and third teams.

Senior Rosie Westerbeck of Minster was a Division 4 first-team selection after leading the Lady Wildcats to the Midwest Athletic Conference championship.

She was recently named the MAC Player of the Year, and averaged 13 points per game, hit 49 percent from the field, and 82 percent from the line. She also had 53 assists and 57 steals.

Kenzie Schroer, a senior from New Knoxville, was named third-team All-Ohio in D-4. She averaged 15 points per game for the Lady Rangers, hit 44 percent from the field and 73 percent from the free throw line. She also led the team in assists with 48 and in steals with 32.

In addition to those two, Minster’s Courtney Prenger was named to the Honorable Mention list on the All-Ohio team, as were Jane Homan of New Bremen, and Sarah Fesenmeyer and Macey Griesdorn of Marion Local.

And in D-4 boys, Aaron Ernst of Minster and Nick Topp of New Knoxville were named to the Honorable Mention list.

Nathan Bruns of Marion Local was named to the D-3 Honorable mention list.

All-Northwest District


First Team: Rosie Westerbeck, Minster, 5-10, sr., 13.0; Sierra Nichols, Arlington, 6-0, sr., 15.7; Danae Myers, Haviland Wayne Trace, 6-0, sr., 16.0; Madison Stolly, Lima Central Catholic, 5-8, sr., 22.4; Bridget Landin, Ottoville, 6-0, jr., 14.0; Emily Patton, Upper Scioto Valley, 5-9, sr., 20.1; Brianna Gillig, New Riegel, 5-9, jr., 23.0; Jenna Karl, New Washington Buckeye Central, 5-8, jr., 15.5.

Second Team: Jami Hardy, Oregon Cardinal Stritch, 5-7, sr., 18.1; Ashley Painley, Norwalk St. Paul, 5-9, sr., 15.3; Taylor Haines, Stryker, 5-4, sr., 14.0; Rachel Williamson, Antwerp, 6-0, jr., 15.0; Addison Bergman, Hicksville, 6-1, jr., 12.9; Paige Motycka, Convoy Crestview, 5-8, jr., 17.4; Allison Adelsperger, Old Fort, 5-5, sr., 19.9; Sydney Kin, Carey, 6-2, jr., 18.9; Miranda Wammes, 5-5, jr., Fremont St. Joseph, 5-5, jr., 12.2.

Third Team: Kenzie Schroer, New Knoxville, 5-8, sr., 15.0; Whitney Dodds, Arlington, 5-7, sr., 14.0; Holly Wilson, Dola Hardin Northern, 5-11, sr., 16.5; Lauren Lukasko, Norwalk St. Paul, 5-11, sr., 10.2; Morgan Leppelmeier, Pettisville, 5-9, so.; 13.4; Haley Doehrmann, Stryker, 5-9, jr., 12.4; Haley Wyss, Ada, 5-7, sr., 14.5; Madilynn Schulte, Delphos St. John’s, 5-6, sr., 13.1.

Player of the year: Jenna Karl, New Washington Buckeye Central

Co-coaches of the year: Jennifer Ritzler, Old Fort; Vicky Mahl, Norwalk St. Paul

Area Honorable mention: Courtney Prenger, Minster; Sarah Fesenmyer, Marion Local; Macey Griesdorn, Marion Local; Jane Homan, New Bremen; .