Staff reports

More than 130 runners took off last Saturday with the sound of the gun in the 18th annual Tawawa Park Runners Scholarship Run. It was a good morning to run and the runners responded with excellent times.

“We were thankful for a great day,” race director Kristin Allen stated. “The weather was perfect and many runners showed up on race day.”

17-year-old Joe Spitzer of Versailles finished in 16:10 to win the men’s title for the second straight year. Lady Raider runner Claire Meyer, 16, won the women’s race, running the 3.1 mile course in 20:43.

Local runners established the race in 1999 with a goal of raising funds for scholarships given out annually to county runners graduating from high school. Winning scholarships this year were Shae Goubeaux of Russia, Lucas Huber of Anna and Lehman grad Brandon Simmons.

The high school team race trophy was captured by Houston. The top five Wildcat runners were Ethan Knouff, Parker Cox, Jacob Slater, Blake Jacobs and Patrick Meiring. Russia finished a close second with top runners Zach Bell, Andrew DeLoye, Gavin George, Jonathon Bell and Claire Meyer.

The age group winners were as follows:

Tawawa Park 5k Scholarship Run

Female 10 and under: Kaelin Steward

Male 10 and under: Jake Kipp

Female 11-14: Breann Reaman

Male 11-14: Jonathon Bell

Female 15-19: Mariana Kellner

Male 15-19: Gavin Bockrath

Female 20-24: Bridget Hoehne

Male 20-24: Charles Baumgardner

Female 25-29: Janica Deloye

Male 25-29: Aaron Deloye

Female 30-34: Lisa Pence

Male 30-34: Bryan Boyer

Female 35-39: Bridget Davis

Male 35-39: Dean Oakley

Female 40-44: Jenny Wanger

Male 40-44: Fred Schmiedebusch

Female 45-49: Melissa Godwin

Male 45-49: Mike Thomas

Female 50-54: Pam Deloye

Male 50-54: William Gold

Female 55-59: Julia Fogt

Male 55-59: Terry Campbell

Female 60-64: Lisa Hoewischer

Male 60-64: Mike Toal

Female 65-69: Debra Henkener

Male 65-69: John Villers

Staff reports