Anna, Botkins, Lehman, Jackson Center highlight WOSL all-star teams

Lehman’s Jake Emrick earns boys player of the year honor

Staff report

Lehman Catholic’s Jake Emrick, Botkins coach Kevin Lynch and Anna coach Mike Noll earned high honors in the Western Ohio Soccer League all-star teams, which were released late last week.

Emrick was named the boys player of the year, while Lynch was the boys coach of the year and Noll was the girls coach of the year.

Emrick led an improved Lehman squad, which went 5-4 in the WOSL in 2016 and finished 6-1-2 this season. Lynch guided Botkins to its third consecutive league title.

Noll, a first-year coach, guided the Rockets to a league title and snapped a three-year streak by Lehman as WOSL champions.

Numerous area players were named first team.

In boys, Zane Paul and Connor Smock from Botkins, Gavin Booser and Trevor Elliott from Jackson Center, Michael Denning and Christian Goettemoeller from Lehman Catholic and Joseph Baende and Jonah Lageman from New Knoxville were first team. Botkins goalkeeper Ethan Butcher and Lehman goalkeeper Ryan Goettemoeller were also first team selections.

In girls, Emily Albers, Claire Bensman, Abby Gaydosh and Taylor Noll of Anna, Paige Lane of Botkins and Abby Jones, Grace Monnin and Molly Safreed of Lehman were first team. Anna goalkeeper Savanna Hostetler and Lehman goalkeeper Camille Brown were also first team selections.

The WOSL also announced late last week that Allen East and Lincolnview are leaving the league. Beginning next fall, the boys division will be comprised of eight teams (Botkins, Fairlawn, Jackson Center, Lima Central Catholic, Lehman Catholic, New Knoxville, Spencerville, Temple Christian) and the girls division will be comprised of seven teams (Anna, Botkins, Coldwater, Delphos St. John’s, Lima Central Catholic, Lehman Catholic, Spencerville).

The complete WOSL boys and girls all-star teams are below.

WOSL all-league girls teams

Player of the Year: Maura Hoying, Coldwater

Coach of the Year: Mike Noll, Anna

First Team

Ally Richardson, junior, Allen East

Emily Albers, senior, Anna

Claire Bensman, junior, Anna

Abby Gaydosh, senior, Anna

Taylor Noll, sophomore, Anna

Paige Lane, senior, Botkins

Maura Hoying, senior, Coldwater

Erin Schritz, junior, Coldwater

Abby Jones, senior, Lehman Catholic

Grace Monnin, junior, Lehman Catholic

Molly Safreed, senior, Lehman Catholic

Avery Rice, junior, Lima Central Catholic

Cecilia Riepenhoff, senior, Lima Central Catholic

Savanna Hostetler, sophomore, Anna

Camille Brown, senior, Lehman Catholic

Second Team

Madison Houston, senior, Allen East

Michaela Ambos, sophomore, Anna

Rylie Edwards, senior, Anna

Lucy Bonifas, senior, Delphos St. John’s

Paige Gaynier, freshman, Delphos St. John’s

Ava Behr, sophomore, Lehman Catholic

Amanda Titterington, senior, Lehman Catholic

Jessica Wilker, junior, Lima Central Catholic

Raygen Martinez, sophomore – Spencerville

Kelsey Shaffer, sophomore, Spencerville

Grace Bruns, junior, Coldwater

Honorable Mention

Abby Garver, Allen East

Gabby Scott, Allen East

Brooke Hemsworth, Anna

Kelsie McKinney, Anna

Grace Homan, Botkins

Lindsey Okuley, Botkins

Abby Bruggeman, Coldwater

Breezy Schneider, Coldwater

Mykenah Jackson, Delphos St. John’s

Marie Mueller, Delphos St. John’s

Carly Edwards, Lehman Catholic

Lindsey Magoteaux, Lehman Catholic

Hailey Koenig, Lima Central Catholic

Sophia Santaguida, Lima Central Catholic

Maddie Gorman, Lincolnview

Olivia Gorman, Lincolnview

Jenna Litsey, Spencerville

Kottia Williams, Spencerville

WOSL all-league boys teams

Player of the Year: Jake Emrick, Lehman Catholic

Coach of the Year: Kevin Lynch, Botkins

First Team

Zane Paul, freshman, Botkins

Connor Smock, freshman, Botkins

Gavin Booser, senior, Jackson Center

Trevor Elliott, senior, Jackson Center

Michael Denning, junior, Lehman Catholic

Jake Emrick, senior, Lehman Catholic

Christian Goettemoeller, Lehman Catholic

Ben Brinkman, senior, Lima Central Catholic

Joseph Baende, junior, New Knoxville

Jonah Lageman, senior, New Knoxville

Levi Shenk, senior, Temple Christian

Cameron Worsham, senior, Temple Christian

Ethan Butcher, senior, Botkins

Ryan Goettemoeller, senior, Lehman Catholic

Second Team

Ethan Grant, senior, Allen East

Cody Meyer, junior, Botkins

Nathan Schneider, freshman, Botkins

Stephen Blanford, senior, Fairlawn

Drew Brautigam, senior, Fairlawn

Bryce Sosby, senior, Jackson Center

Michael Briggs, junior, Lima Central Catholic

Skyler Corso, senior, Lima Central Catholic

Tanner Christman, senior, Spencerville

Seth Ward, senior, Temple Christian

Jack Zerante, sophomore, Lima Central Catholic

Honorable Mention

Dalton Clum, Allen East

Christian Hedrick, Allen East

Andrew Monnin, Botkins

Zack Ware, Botkins

Devon North, Fairlawn

Lukas Smith, Fairlawn

Kennedie Reese, Jackson Center

Garrett Heitkamp, Jackson Center

Justin Braun, Lincolnview

Jared Pollock, Lincolnview

Zach Davis, New Knoxville

Chris Covert, New Knoxville

Matthew McDonald, Lehman Catholic

Conor O’Leary, Lehman Catholic

Preston Gandy, Lima Central Catholic

Connor Knippen, Lima Central Catholic

Ethan DeLeon, Temple Christian

Paul Holloway, Temple Christian

Grant Hackworth, Spencerville

Jacob Litsey, Spencerville

Lehman’s Jake Emrick earns boys player of the year honor

Staff report