Council picks Thurber to fill vacancy

SIDNEY — Sidney City Council Monday night picked Darryl Thurber to fill a vacancy in the 2nd Ward council seat.

Council chose Thurber following an executive session where they interviewed three candidates for the post, according to a news release issued Wednesday by Mayor Mike Barhorst.

Thurber, a supervisor at Plastipak Packaging in Jackson Center, resides at 530 N. West Ave. with his wife, Danielle. A native of Wisconsin, Thurber has resided in Sidney for more than 15 years. A son, Joshua Thurber, lives in Rice Lake, Wisconsin. A daughter, Jasmine Bixby, resides in Sidney.

“I believe I have a civic duty to serve my community,” Thurber stated. “I believe that I can be a positive addition to council, and effectively represent the 2nd Ward.”

The 2nd Ward seat has been vacant since Chuck Craynon resigned May 26. Craynon resigned to accept a position on the Shelby County Board of Elections.

Other candidates council interviewed were James H. Loos, 708 St. Marys Ave., and Rick Hockaday, 509 Foxcross Drive. A fourth candidate, John Thompson, 116 W. Bennett St., asked that his name be withdrawn from consideration for the position.

Each remaining candidate was asked a series of 20 questions. Those questions included, “What do you like most about Sidney, and what would you change if you could?” Another question asked about the use of eminent domain to obtain property for important city projects. Still other questions queried the city’s role in economic development, helping the school pass an operating levy, and enforcing property maintenance codes.

Following the interview process, council discussed the merits of each candidate, and then voted by ballot.

Thurber will be sworn in near the beginning of the July 27 regular meeting of council. Once he is sworn in, he will take his place as a member of council. The term expires Nov. 30, 2017.

Council filled the vacancy in accordance with Section 2.8 of the city charter: “If any member of the council shall die, resign, or be disqualified, the remaining members of the council shall, by the concurrence of at least four votes, chose a successor who shall serve during the remainder of the unexpired term.”