May 29 graduation planned for Fort Loramie seniors

Staff report

FORT LORAMIE — The Fort Loramie High School graduation ceremony for the Class of 2016 will be held on Sunday, May 29, 2016, at 1 p.m. in the high school gymnasium. No tickets are needed and seating is unlimited. Diane Pleiman, president of the Fort Loramie Board of Education, will present the diplomas.

The valedictorian and salutatorian are to be determined.

The class motto is “What lies behind us, and what lies before us are small matters, compared to what lies within us.” The class song is “Young and Crazy” by Frankie Ballard. The class poem is “Red and Black Flashbacks” by Samantha Kunkler. The class flower is the sunflower.

The high school band will play “Pomp and Circumstance” by Elgar, arranged by Ployhar as the graduates enter the gym and “The Olympic Spirit” by John Williams, arranged by Jay Bocook as the graduates exit the gym. The High School Chorus members will perform “Wings” by Carl Strommen during the middle of the ceremony. Both will be under the direction of Kyle Knapke.

There will be 79 diplomas presented to the Class of 2016. Seniors receiving diplomas are Jason Ahrns, Kaleb Albers, Dylan Aufderhaar, Maria Barhorst, Hillary Benanzer, Kierstin Benanzer, Audrey Bender, Samantha Bensman, Adam Bockrath, Spencer Bodenmiller, Jessica Boerger, Shelby Bohman, Janelle Bollheimer, Logan Brackman, Maddison Brandewie, Timothy Brown, Luke Carter, John Chaney, Allen DeLoye, Dylan Eilerman, Justin Eilerman, Mackenzie Eilerman, Hollan Frey, Ashley Frilling, Blake Gaier, Taylor Gasson, Makenna Geise, Riley Hausfeld, Dylan Heitkamp and Travis Hilgefort

Also, Emily Holdheide, Riley Holland, Kaitlyn Holthaus, Kaitlyn Hoying, Jessica Iddings, Matthew Iddings, Claire Kazmaier, Nicole Kessler, Jacob Kitzmiller, Melanie Kremer, Samantha Kunkler, Jacob Laux, Kara Magoteaux, Julie May, Mikaela McGee, Noel Mescher, Andrea Meyer, Brittany Meyer, Kevin Meyer, Lauren Meyer, Nathan Meyer, Aubree Middendorf, Cortney Norris, Patrick Pangilinan, Aaron Plas, Bradley Pleiman, Alyson Poeppelman, Nathan Poeppelman, Weston Puthoff, Olivia Quinter, Kristin Ratermann, Jared Regula, Connor Rose, Tanner Rosengarten, Brooke Ruhenkamp, Nicholas Ruhenkamp, Rachel Schmitmeyer, Joshua Schulze, Aaron Schwartz, Darrin Seger, Renee Seger, Joshua Siegel, Lauren Siegel, Robert Siegel, Jessica Stephens, Andre Turner, Lindsey Wappelhorst, Drew Wehrman and Jeremy Yates.

The local scholarships were awarded at the Achievement and Awards Program on April 27, 2016. The scholarship winners were: Fort Loramie Education Foundation: American Legion Post 355 Scholarship-Rachel Schmitmeyer; Post 355 Legionnair, Auxillary & Sons Scholarship-Janelle Bollheimer; Fort Loramie Community Service Club Scholarship-Luke Carter and Lauren Siegel; David B. & Julie E. Shuffelton Scholarship-Aaron Schwartz; Ben-Med Fund Memorial Scholarship-Maddison Brandewie; Elmer H. Schafer Scholarship-Hillary Benanzer; Faulkner, Garmhausen, Keister, & Shenk Scholarship-Makenna Geise; Homer & Mary Lou Bornhorst Family Scholarship-Melanie Kremer; Joe & Mary Borchers Memorial Scholarship-Alyson Poeppelman; Red & Black Scholarship-Nick Ruhenkamp; Red & Black Memorial Scholarship-Noel Mescher; Richard Simon Memorial Scholarship-Kara Magoteaux; Urban E. Ratermann Scholarship-Jacob Kitzmiller; Minster Bank Scholarship-Claire Kazmaier; John & Victoria Albers Memorial Scholarship-Riley Hausfeld. Fort Loramie Athletic Booster Club Scholarship-Drew Wehrman and Claire Kazmaier; for Fort Loramie Achievement Community for Excellence, Fort Loramie ACE Scholarship-Riley Hausfeld; Herb Poeppelman Scholarship-Shelby Bohman; Madeline Maurer Scholarship-Riley Hausfeld. Osgood State Bank Volunteer Scholarship-Riley Hausfeld; Fort Loramie Liberty Days Scholarship-Riley Hausfeld; Fort Loramie Liberty Days 2015 Miss Independence Scholarship-Brooke Ruhenkamp; Fort Loramie Liberty Days 2015 Miss Independence Runner-Up Scholarship-Rachel Schmitmeyer; Fort Loramie Education Association – Marie Quinlin Scholarship-Jacob Kitzmiller; Fort Loramie Teachers Scholarship-Ashley Frilling and Drew Wehrman; Fort Loramie Music Boosters Scholarship-Riley Hausfeld, Kevin Meyer, and Lauren Siegel; Studio Eleven Inc. Scholarship-Maddison Brandewie; Industrial Machining Services Inc.-Darren Ruhenkamp Memorial Scholarship-Olivia Quinter; Fort Loramie Fire Department-Michael Hoying Memorial Scholarship-Brooke Ruhenkamp; Community Foundation of Shelby County-Ratermann Insurance Agency Scholarship-Julie May; Fort Loramie Board of Education Scholarship-Hillary Benanzer and Rachel Schmitmeyer; Fort Loramie Knights of Columbus Youth Fund Scholarship-Rachel Schmitmeyer.

Staff report