Upper Valley Career Center Convocation to honor the Class of 2016

Staff report




PIQUA — The Upper Valley Career Center will conduct its convocation for the 2016 graduates on Thursday, May 26, at 7 p.m. at Hobart Arena, Troy. A total of 360 students representing 14 associate schools and open-enrolled students from Miami, Champaign and Darke counties will be honored by the school district for successful completion of their high school academics and career and technical program certifications.

Board of Education President Maria Brewer and Dr. Nancy Luce, superintendent, will welcome graduates, guests and present Awards of Appreciation to John Bertsch, CEO/Owner Detailed Machining, and Beverly Smith, Tech Prep Consultant, Edison State Community College. Executive Director Jason Haak will preside assisted by Administrators Eric Bowser, Michelle Brunson, Joe Davis, Roger Voisard, Timothy Cordonnier and Matt Meyer. Career and Technical program instructors will present certificates to each students.

Student address

Student Senate President Julie May will deliver the student address. She is is the daughter of Randy and Kathy May and an Interactive Media student from Fort Loramie High School. She serves as vice president of the Business Professionals of America Chapter, is an active 4-H member, serves on the Shelby County Junior Fair Board and plays varsity Softball at Fort Loramie. May will pursue a BA in Digital Media Advertising at Bowling Green University this fall.

Top scholar

Madeline Ponchillia, Piqua, is the Upper Valley Career Center 2016 Top Scholar. She is the daughter of Scott and Ginger Ponchillia also of Piqua. Ponchillia is a member of the National Technical Honor Society and served as a Student Athletic Trainer for football and basketball at Piqua High School. She has been a Top 100 at Piqua High School three out of four years as well as a state competitor in SkillsUSA. Ponchillia earned an STNA through the Medical Technologies program at Upper Valley and will be attending the Kettering College of Medical Arts this fall to become a Ceretified Registered Nurse Anesthesist.

Shelby County graduates include:

• Anna High School: Taylor Bergman, Scott Boerger, Matthew Carr, Steve Ellis, Antoinette Gibson, Gerrit Hovestreydt, Luke Iler, Cody Koppin, Paige Shonk.
• Botkins Local High School: Austin Adams, Catessa Cathcart, Alexis DeBernay, Stephanie Etgen, Matthew Schipper, Dillon Underwood. Fairlawn Local Schools: Whitely Burton, Gage Fitzgerald, Kamryn Gates, Megan Hutchins, Tyler Turner.
• Fort Loramie High School: Kaleb Albers, Dylan Aufderhaar, Samantha Bensman, Adam Bockrath, Spencer Bodenmiller, Shelby Bohman, John Chaney, Allen DeLoye, Justin Eilerman, Mackenzie Eilerman, Ashley Frilling, Blake Gaier, Dylan Heitkamp, Travis Hilgefort, Emily Holdheide, Kaitlyn Holthaus, Nicole Kessler, Jacob Laux, Julie May, Brittany Meyer, Nathan Meyer, Patrick Gabriel Pangilinan, Aaron Plas, Bradley Pleiman, Nathan Poeppelman, Weston Puthoff, Tanner Rosengarten, Joshua Schulze, Darrin Seger, Joshua Siegel, Robert Siegel, Lindsey Wappelhorst, Jeremy Yates.
• Houston High School: Aaron Anderson, Matthew Campbell, Deanna Filyaw, Kaylynne Francis, Anna Frohne, Jacob Gates, Alexander Gilson, Sophia Gilson, Abigail Grilliot, Arron Heckman, Collin Hughes, Zachary Jolly, Darian Kissinger, Caleb Martin, Luke Meyer, Devan Nagel, Nathan Napier, Domyneik Phipps, Grace Riffell, Kyler Spears, Lillian Walters.
• Jackson Center High School: Shelby Blair, Christian Durant, Collin Ganger, Danielle Glick, Ashton Irwin, Bryan Landis, Christopher Mangus, Jaclyn Schmiesing, Wyatt Shaffer, Colton Wildermuth.
• Russia Local School: Hannah Cohee, Cody Fairchild, Luke Heaton, Jacob Kittel, Dalton Rees, Joseph Stickel, Tucker Wolaver.
• Sidney High School: Brandon Ahrens, Breanna Baldwin, Katelynn Blankenship, Zoe Boyer, Joseph Bryant, Hunter Cahill, Blaine Carey, Michael Carey, Kayli Coburn, Adrienna Cook, Michael Cornett, Cody Dailey, Matthew Delafuente, Nina Dishon, Tony Donahue, Brandon Edwards, Ashley Eichelberger, Milton George, Alec Gerstner, Kassandra Haas, Joshua Haithcock, Jacob Hawk, Tyler Heistermann, Taylor Horne, Collin Keith, Larry Kelly, Devon Legge, Ashley Lightle, Brandon Link, Katelyn Lyons, Maryah McKinley, Logan Mclane, Ty Mosley, Kelby Neeley, Christian Reynolds, Jessi Salyers, Trevor Sarver, Asia Sayre, Jordon Shoe, Chase Stewart, Timothy Tippie, Weston Tucker, Hunter Tully, Jameson Wallis, Elise Wiesenmayer, Michael Wisecup, Jerrid Younker (deceased).



Staff report