Fort Loramie graduation set for May 28

Staff report






FORT LORAMIE — Fifty-two seniors at Fort Loramie High School will receive their diplomas during graduation ceremonies planned for Sunday, May 28, at 1 p.m. in the high school gymnasium.

Valedictorians for the Class of 2017 are Thomas Ballas, Maddison Fortman and Regan Middendorf. The salutatorian is Aliya Holdheide.

The high school band will perform “Pomp and Circumstance” and “The Olympic Spirit” and the high school choir will perform-both under the direction of Kyle Knapke. There will also be a slideshow shown during the commencement exercises to reflect back on the memories the class has shared throughout their school years together.

Guest speakers for graduation will be Superintendent Daniel B.Holland and Principal Kreg A. Hollenbacher.

The class motto is “Together we have experienced life. Separately, we will pursue our dreams. Forever, our memories will remain.” The class song is “May We All” by Florida Georgia Line.

Scholarships awarded to Fort Loramie seniors include:

Fort Loramie Education Foundation:

• American Legion Post 355 Scholarship: Tom Ballas and Hunter Barga

* Post 355 Legionnair, Auxillary & Sons Scholarship: Taylor Ernst

* Fort Loramie Community Service Club Scholarship: Daniel Berning and Maddi Fortman

* Diane Lotz Memorial Scholarship: Emily Knouff

* David B. & Julie E. Shuffelton Scholarship: Taylor Boerger

* Ben-Med Fund Memorial Scholarship: Jake Ward

* Elmer H. Schafer Scholarship: Tom Ballas

* Faulkner, Garmhausen, Keister & Shenk Scholarship: Aliya Holdheide

* Homer & Mary Lou Bornhorst Family Scholarship: Regan Middendorf

* Joe & Mary Borchers Memorial Scholarship: Emily Knouff

* Red & Black Scholarship: Kayla Rosengarten

* Red & Black Memorial Scholarship: Luke Stager

* Richard & Shirley Simon Memorial Scholarship: Sara Stang

* Urban E. Ratermann Scholarship: Maeve Hilgefort

* Minster Bank Scholarship: Kaitlyn Luebke

* John & Victoria Albers Memorial Scholarship: Alex Wilt

* Paul & Veronica Perin Scholarship: Logan Gigandet

* Mike and Mary Jo Barhorst Family Scholarship: Hunter Barga

• Osgood State Bank Volunteer Scholarship: Tom Ballas

• Fort Loramie Athletic Booster Club Scholarship: Kaitlyn Luebke and Sara Stang

Fort Loramie Achievement Community for Excellence:

* Fort Loramie ACE Scholarship: Alex Wilt

* Herb Poeppelman Scholarship: Maeve Hilgefort

* Madeline Maurer Scholarship: Hunter Barga

• Fort Loramie Liberty Days Scholarship: Maddi Fortman

• Fort Loramie Liberty Days 2016 Miss Independence Scholarship: Marissa Riethman

• Fort Loramie Liberty Days 2016 Miss Independence Runner-Up Scholarship: Taylor Ernst

• Studio Eleven Inc. Scholarship: Rebeccah DeLoye

•Industrial Machining Services Inc.-Darren Ruhenkamp Memorial Scholarship: Ethan Broerman

• Fort Loramie Fire Department-Michael Hoying Memorial Scholarship: Alan Holdheide

• Community Foundation of Shelby County-Ratermann Insurance Agency Scholarship: Alex Wilt

• Fort Loramie Board of Education Scholarship: Regan Middedndorf

• Fort Loramie Knights of Columbus Youth Fund Scholarship: Hunter Barga

• Fort Loramie Education Association – Marie Quinlin Scholarship: Hunter Barga

• Fort Loramie Teachers Scholarship: Alec Holthaus and Emily Knouff

• McDonald’s Ray A. Kroc Award: Reyan Frey

• Fort Loramie Music Boosters Scholarship: Tom Ballas, Lauren Birkmeyer, Maddi Fortman, Karlee Barlage, Hunter Barga, Kayla Rosengarten and Daniel Berning.

Members of the Fort Loramie High School Class of 2017 are Thomas Ballas, Hunter Barga, Caleigh Barhorst, Brianna Barlage, Karlee Barlage, Logan Barlage, Carlie Bergman, Daniel Berning, Lauren Birkmeyer, Taylor Boerger, Matthew Branscum, Ethan Broerman, Alexis Brown, Brent Bruggeman, Rebeccah DeLoye, Hunter Drees, Skylar Druckenbroad, Taylor Ernst, Maddison Fortman, Reyan Frey, Cody Gasson, Samuel Geise, Logan Gigandet, Bradley Gottemoeller, Morgan Heise, Maeve Hilgefort, Alan Holdheide, Aliya Holdheide, Alec Holthaus, Emily Knouff, Megan Koppin, Bailey Littleton, Kaitlyn Luebke, Corey Mangas, Megan Maurer, Connor Meiring, Allison Meyer, Frank Meyer, Regan Middendorf, Cody Pleiman, Nathan Pleiman, Nicholas Pleiman, Marissa Riethman, Kayla Rosengarten, Tate Sholtis, Carter Siegel, Luke Stager, Sara Stang, Emily Traub, Darren Turner, Jake Ward and Alex Wilt.





Staff report