Upper Valley Career Center to honor Class of 2017

Staff report





PIQUA — The Upper Valley Career Center will conduct Convocation for the 2017 graduates on May 25, 7 p.m. at Hobart Arena, Troy. A total of 323 students representing 14 associate schools and open-enrolled students from Auglaize, Miami, Champaign and Darke counties will be honored by the school district for successful completion of their high school academics and career and technical program certifications.

Board of Education Vice President Bill Ankney, Sidney City Schools, will welcome graduates and guests. Dr. Nancy Luce, superintendent, will present an Award of Appreciation to representatives of Wayne Trail, Fort Loramie.

Executive Director Jason Haak will preside over the ceremony assisted by high school administrators Eric Bowser, Michelle Brunson, Joe Davis, Roger Voisard, Timothy Cordonnier and Matt Meyer. Career and Technical program instructors will present certificates to each students.

Student address

Keaton Pfeiffer, a Pre Engineering student from Troy, will deliver the student address. Pfeiffer is the son of Nicole Luciano, Troy, and Steve Pfeiffer, Cleveland. He was elected to a national office through SkillsUSA in June 2016 and serves as Region lll Vice President through June 2017. As a national officer, Pfeiffer has traveled to Washington D.C., Orlando, Louisville and Birmingham. His duties have included organizing state and national events, conducting training for upcoming SkillsUSA leaders, and meeting with legislators from state and national levels to discuss career and technical education. In addition to SkillsUSA, Pfeiffer participated in Troy High School sports including varsity golf, basketball and track and field. He is a member of the National Technical Honor Society, and will attend The Ohio State University to study Aerospace Engineering this fall.

Top scholars

Holly Bucholtz, Newton High School, and Kyle Flaute, Houston High School, each with a perfect 4.0 grade point average will be recognized as the Upper Valley Career Center 2017 Top Scholars.

Bucholtz is the daughter of James and Candy Bucholtz, Pleasant Hill. She has completed the Exercise Science program at Upper Valley and will be attending the University of Toledo to continue her studies in Exercise Science and Pre Physical Therapy this fall. She plans to continue her education through graduate school to pursue a career in Physical Therapy. Bucholtz is a member of the National Technical Honor Society and participated.

Flaute is also a member of the National Technical Honor Society through participation in the Computer Information Technologies program at Upper Valley. He has begun classes at Edison State Community College and will continue there this fall. He plans to pursue a programming position upon completion of his education. Flaute is the son of Martha Simpson, Wapakoneta, and Kurt Barhorst, Sidney.

The Upper Valley Career Center Class of 2017 representing these Shelby County Schools –

Anna High School: Dietrich Rinehart, Ag Power; Sabrina Black and Allison Williamson, Cosmetology; Michael Schulze, Discovery; Jasmine Furbush. Design and Digital Print, Erin Bremke and Grace Wilson, Early Childhood Education; Levi Cantrell, Environmental Occupations; Joel Gaier and Britton Martin, Electrical Trades; Shyanne Wagle, Interactive Media; Clarissa Nanik, Medical Information Mgt; Joel Seger, Manufacturing; Zachery Barga and Cody Limbert, Welding.

Botkins High School: Joseph Fisher, Auto Collision Repair; Jenna Pitts and Brooke Stoler, Cosmetology; Matthew Carpenter, Welding.

Fairlawn: Jacob Brautigam, Trevor Greiwe, Michael Mullen and William Smedley, Ag Power; Steven Champagne, Rebecca Long, and Shalynn Nafzger, Carpentry; Emilie Carter, Cosmetology; Chelsie Brautigam, Exercise Science; Benjamin Brautigam, Electrical Trades; Raymond Osborn, HVAC; Jessica Rufus, Interactive Media; Katherine Bodiker, Medical Information; Austin Maddy, Pre Engineering; Brendon Andreson, Welding.

Fort Loramie: Brent Bruggeman, Ag Power; Skylar Druckenbroad and Morgan Heise, Carpentry; Samuel Geise, Electronics; Alan Holdheide, Electrical Trades; Alexis Brown, Medical Tech; Matthew Branscum, Frank Meyer, Cody Pleiman, Nathan Pleiman, and Tate Sholtis, Manufacturing.

Houston High School: Dylan Hensley, Aerospace Occupations; Logan Ayers, Lane Farrier and Adam Lichtenberg, Ag Power; Sage Bryant and Quinton Cox, Auto Tech; Kyle Flaute and Darian Kaltenbach, CIT, Megan Grilliot, Cosmetology; Skylar Purkeypile, Electronics; Allison Smith and Brittany Timmerman, Exercise Science; Emily Picker, Electrical Trades; Seth Stoodt, HVAC; Katherine Loraine and Cassie Steele, Landscape Mgt; Mya Davenport, Gabrielle Cagle, Abriana Dienhart, Haley Hawn, Sierra Hecht and Alexandria Stief, Medical Tech, Mason Anderson, Manufacturing; Brittany Schemmel, Pre Engineering.

Jackson Center High School: Shiaya Martinez, Cosmetology; Mikayla Ryder, Discovery; Walter Ostermyer, Design and Digital Print; Haven Gibson, Medical Tech.

Lehman Catholic High School: Benjamin Frantz, Electrical Trades.

Russia High School: Connor Metz, Ag Power; Kyle Luthman, Discovery; Drew Alt, Interactive Media; Tyler Robinson, Manufacturing; Dameon Huffman, Welding.

Sidney High School: William Burnside, Aerospace Occupations; Joseph Trisler, Auto Services; Travis Douglas, Ty Elliott, Brandon Hawk, and Dawson Pence, Auto Tech; Kelsi Draving, Harley Link, and Roma Pereira, Carpentry; Tyler Murphy, CIT; Cortney Sell, Discovery; Haley Jones, Early Childhood Education; Marco Delgado, Haley Hamblin and Kiara Wood, Environmental Occupations; Lucas Kempfer, Exercise Science; Jack Covault and Johnathon Voorhies, HVAC; Samuel Fogt, Kara Boze and Hayley Cost, Interactive Media; Lorah Bontrager, Amber Day, Tisha Hundley, Kyleigh Jones, Madyson Jones, Miracle Odom, and Madison Young, Medical Technology; Taylor Kendall, Medical Information; Braden Cline, Manufacturing; Hunter Clark, Adam Clutter, Collin Fridley, Xavier Wise, Pre Engineering; Mason Wilde, Teacher Academy; Nojah Browning, Welding.

The Class of 2017 also includes:

Marion Local High School: Lindsey Schemmel, Cosmetology

Minster High School: Jordan Nolan, Carpentry.

New Knoxville High School: Olivia Rollins, Cosmetology.

Versailles High School: Joseph Bowman, Welding.




Staff report