Jackson Township trustees assist with video project

For the Sidney Daily News

JACKSON CENTER — Chairman John Mann reports that the Jackson Township Board of Trustees had a successful year in 2016.

His report continues:

The township maintains 25.664 miles of roadway, and the trustees do road maintenance throughout the year including mowing side ditches, plowing snow and culvert maintenance. Major projects completed in 2016 were the chip and seal of Wells Road from Pasco-Montra Road to Wones Road, chip and seal of Lock-Two Road from state Route 65 East to the Logan County line, and repair and paving of a portion of Wells Road. Road signs were also upgraded in Trustee Larry Sprague’s district. Railroad crossings on Wise, Wildermuth and Linker Roads were upgraded by the railroad, with stop signs replacing the yield signs.

In 2016 the trustees received a $1,000 grant from the Shelby County Community Foundation to assist the Jackson Center Schools and Village with funding of a community video project to promote the area for growth.

At the Jan. 5, 2017, reorganization meeting, John Mann was elected as chairman, Robert Zorn was elected vice chairman, and Larry Sprague is the third trustee. Diane Frank is the fiscal officer and Ray Davis is the zoning officer.

Meeting times for the trustees will remain on the third Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. Meetings are held at the township building located at 17555 State Route 65N, Jackson Center, Ohio. If a scheduling conflict results in a change of meeting date or time, or any special meetings are set, that information will be posted at the township building and the newspaper notified.

Road districts for the trustees are as follows. Mann’s district is north of state Route 274, Sprague’s district is south of state Route 274 and east of state Route 65, and Zorn’s district is south of state Route 274 and west of state Route 65.

Andy Weaver joined the Zoning Board in 2016 after the retirement of long-time Zoning Board member, Ralph Zwiebel, after many years of service to Jackson Township. Other members of the Zoning Board are Willis Fogt, Harry Noah, James Poppe and Ron Wiessinger. The Zoning Board reorganized for the new year on Jan. 19, 2017, electing Harry Noah as chairman and Andy Weaver as vice chairman.

Appeals Board members are Bert Regula, Ray Davis, Herman McBride, Tim Davis and James W. Davis. The Appeals Board reorganized for the new year on Jan. 19, 2017, electing Bert Regula as chairman and Herman McBride as vice chairman.

The trustees want to advise all township landowners and building contractors working in the area that Jackson Township has zoning regulations. Before beginning construction projects, please contact Zoning Officer Ray Davis for clarification of zoning for the property so as to obtain the correct permits prior to beginning construction. The zoning officer can be reached at 937-596-6279.

For the Sidney Daily News