Impact Ohio conference coming to Dayton region

DAYTON – Impact Ohio will hold a Dayton Regional Conference from 11 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Thursday at The University of Dayton, Daniel J. Curran Place (1700 South Patterson Blvd.) in The Meyer Room.

The conference is a partnership effort with The Success Group, the Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce, Cox Media Ohio and the University of Dayton.

The Impact Ohio Dayton Regional Conference, cosponsored by the Ohio Democratic and Republican parties, will offer a special, bipartisan opportunity to explore public policies important to the Miami Valley.

“We’re looking forward to returning to Dayton this year for another Impact Ohio regional conference. We expect to have a great turnout with attendees from the Dayton region, in addition to those from Columbus who are interested in policies affecting the area,” Jennifer Flatter, CEO of Impact Ohio, said.

The conference agenda will feature government leaders, media professionals, business leaders and policy experts.

The conference will hold three public policy panels titled “Cybersecurity: Protecting Information in the Digital Age,” “Election 2020: From the White House to the Statehouse” and “Economic Development & the Third Frontier: The Future of Innovation & Entrepreneurship.”

Speakers include:

• Ohio Lt. Gov. Jon Husted

• Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley

• Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose

• Ohio Treasurer of State Robert Sprague

• University of Dayton President Eric F. Spina

Panelists include:

Cybersecurity: Protecting Information in the Digital Age

• Moderator: Chris Kershner, executive vice president, Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce

• Harold J. Arata, lead systems design engineer, AT&T Government Solutions

• Lisa Heckler, chief information security officer, CareSource

• Stephanie Singer, vice president of operations, Reed Elsevier Technology Services

• Retired Air Force Col. Joseph Zeis, Jr., senior policy adviser for aerospace and defense, Office of Gov. Mike DeWine

Election 2020: From the White House to the Statehouse

• Moderator: Laura Bischoff, statehouse reporter, Dayton Daily News

• Christopher Devine, assistant professor, University of Dayton

• Kevin DeWine, partner, CBD Advisors

• Janetta King, president and CEO, Innovation Ohio

Economic Development & the Third Frontier: The Future of Innovation & Entrepreneurship

• Moderator: Samantha Sommer, investigative and community impact director, Dayton Daily News

•Shelley Dickstein, city manager, City of Dayton

• Roger Edwards, vice president of Accelerant Venture Capital Fund, Dayton Development Coalition

• Scott Koorndyk, president, The Entrepreneurs Center

• Former Gov. Bob Taft, distinguished research associate, University of Dayton

Ted Bucaro, government and regional relations director for the University of Dayton, views the Impact Ohio Dayton Regional Conference as a great opportunity for members of the community to network and hear first-hand from elected officials, business leaders and local experts.

“The University of Dayton is pleased to partner with Impact Ohio to bring another regional conference to the Miami Valley,” Bucaro said. “We look forward to hearing the speakers and panelists discuss issues important to the region.”

The Success Group launched Impact Ohio in 1984 with the first Post Election Conference in Columbus, which is held every two years immediately following the general election. Interest has grown over the last 35 years, which led Impact Ohio to expand in 2017 with regional conferences. In 2019, Impact Ohio has held regional conferences in Toledo, Akron and Youngstown/Warren with upcoming conferences in Dayton, Canton and Southeast Ohio.

“We have been receiving a lot of positive feedback from attendees at our regional conferences who appreciate the opportunity to network and discuss public policy,” Flatter said. “This motivates us to continue working with local communities to offer Impact Ohio events across the state.”

Following the conference, there will be a post conference reception, hosted by The Success Group, at the Dublin Pub (300 Wayne Ave., Dayton).

Individuals can register for the conference and reception at