National FFA Organization names 2016 New Century Farmers

Staff report

INDIANAPOLIS — The National FFA Organization has selected 33 outstanding young people to participate in the 2016 New Century Farmer conference. This exclusive, highly competitive program develops young men and women committed to pursuing a career in production agriculture.

Participants will take part in an intensive seminar July 10-16 in Johnstown, Iowa. They will learn from each other and industry experts during a series of workshops and sessions. Topics will include the global marketplace, farm financing, demographic trends and risk management. New Century Farmers will hear from motivating and informative keynote speakers who will educate them on the risk and rewards involved with production agriculture. In addition to classroom learning, students will experience the latest developments in agricultural technology.

The New Century Farmer conference is sponsored by DuPont Pioneer; Case IH; CSX Corporation; and Farm Credit with media partner Successful Farming as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. The program is designed to provide participants with valuable skills and knowledge applicable to their own farm/ranch operations. In addition, they will build a network of colleagues that will benefit them throughout their careers.

The 2016 New Century Farmers are Cheyenne Upton of Oroville, California; Daniel Quinn of Stratford, Connecticut; Shelbi McCall of Mayo, Florida; Morgan Howard of Craigmont, Idaho; Riley Lewis of Indiana; David Turnis of Bernard, Iowa; Anthony Bittel of Owensboro, Kentucky; Shelby Wade of Carlisle, Kentucky; Alex Heldt of Watertown, Minnesota; Asa Nelson of Tracy, Minnesota; Mary Sarah Sauber of Motley, Minnesota; Cara Fordyce of Maryville, Missouri; Morgan Cuttlers of Raymond, Neb.; Ethan Holland of Olin, N.C.; Kevin Osborn of Tuttle, Okla.; Tyler Schnaithman of Garber, Oklahoma; Andrew Armstrong of South Charleston, Ohio; Matthew Klopfenstein of Haviland, Ohio; Michaela Kramer of Wapakoneta, Ohio; Jenna lee of Marysville, Ohio; Abigail Motter of Mansfield, Ohio; Madison Sheahan of Curtice, Ohio; Austin Wippel of Orient, Ohio; Brandon Myers of Lexington, South Carolina; Kaden Eisenbraun, of Wall, South Dakota; Caleb Brannon of Puryear, Tennessee; Colson Dreibrodt of San Marcos, Texas; Cameron Young of Lubbock, Texas; Jacob Lake of Logan, Utah; Rebekah Slabach of Alton, Virgina; Maggie Elliot of Prosser, Washington; Logan Zepp of Elma, Washington; and Matt Kortbein of Warrens, Wisconsin.

The National FFA Organization provides leadership, personal growth and career success training through agricultural education to 629,367 student members who belong to one of 7,757 local FFA chapters throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Staff report