Anna’s Althauser D-3 Coach of the Year



Staff report

Anna head baseball coach Kristian Althauser was named the Division 3 Coach of the Year as the Miami Valley Baseball Coaches Association announced its annual All-Area Team.

Althauser has guided the Rockets to their current 18-9 record and to a share of the County championship at 10-2.

He had nine of his players receive All-Area honors.

Two players made the first team, including Colin Wuebker in the infield and Aidan Endsley as a utility player.

Named to the second team are infielder Nathan Frilling, catcher ZachWhite, outfielder Derek Coverstone, pitcher Mitchell Lindsey, utility player Seth Stiefel and first baseman Jarred Seigel.

Carter Elliott was named to the honorable mention list as a pitcher.

Wuebker, Frilling and Endsley were all voted to the All-County first team, and White and Coverstone to the second team.

Versailles had six players named to the D-3 team, including catcher Kyle Subler, who was the player of the year and the Mizuno All-Ohio representative from the division.

Also named to the first team are pitcher Cole Niekamp, infielder Kurtis Rutschilling and outfielder Keaton McEldowney.

Noah Richard is second team in the outfield and Jacob Heitkamp honorable mention at first base.

Division 4

The Lehman Cavaliers, who finished the season ranked second in the state, had four players named first team All-Area.

Parker Riley was first team at pitcher after going unbeaten in the regular season for the second consecutive year.

Joining him on the first team are first baseman Bryce Kennedy, infielder Dylan Arnold and outfielder Brandon Barhorst. Kennedy leads the area and set a new school record for runs batted in.

The Russia Raiders, who won a share of the County title, had four players named to the team.

Second-team selections include County Player of the Year Hunter Cohee at first base and Drew Sherman in the infield. And named to the honorable mention list are Kevin Drees at first and Dylan Cordonnier in the outfield.

Fort Loramie, which also won a share of the County title, had three players named to the team.

Outfielder Carter Siegel is first team in the outfield, Dylan Albers is second team in the outfield, and Jared Middendorf is honorable mention as a pitcher.

And Riverside had three players named also, including infielder Caleb Stevens to the second team, and catcher Hunter Kreglow and utility player Tyler Sanford to the honorable mention list.

Division 1

Sidney had one player named in Cole Hofmann, who is a second-team selection.

Miami Valley Baseball

Coaches Association

All-Area Team

Local/County/Area selections

Division 1

Second team — Cole Hofman, Sidney

Division 3

First team — Colin Wuebker, Anna, infield; Aidan Endsley, Anna, utility; Cole Niekamp, Versailles, pitcher; Kyle Subler, Versailles, catcher (Player of the Year); Keaton McEldowney, Versailles, outfield.

Second team — Nathan Frilling, Anna, infield; Zach White, Anna, catcher; Derek Coverstone, Anna, outfield; Mitchell Lindsey, Anna, pitcher; Seth Stiefel, Anna, utility; Jarred Seigle, Anna, first base; Noah Richard, Versailles, outfield.

Honorable mention — Carter Elliott, Anna, pitcher; Jacob Heitkamp, Versailles, first base.

Coach of the Year — Kristin Althauser, Anna.

Division 4

First team — Parker Riley, Lehman, pitcher; Bryce Kennedy, Lehman, first base; Brandon Barhorst, Lehman, outfield; Carter Siegel, Fort Loramie, outfield.

Second team — Hunter Cohee, Russia, first base; Drew Sherman, Russia, infield; Dylan Albers, Fort Loramie, outfield; Caleb Stevens, Riverside, infield.

Honorable mention — Jared Middendort, Fort Loramie, pitcher; Kevin Drees, Russia, catcher; Dylan Cordonnier, Russia, outfield; Hunter Kreglow, Riverside, catcher; Tyler Sanford, Riverside, utility.