2015 acreage reporting dates announced


In order to comply with FSA program eligibility requirements, all producers are encouraged to visit the Shelby County FSA office to file an accurate crop certification report by the applicable deadline.

The following acreage reporting dates are applicable for Shelby County:

July 15, 2015 — Report all your Burley Tobacco, Cabbage (planted March 19, 2015, to May 31, 2015, Corn, Grain Sorghum, Hybrid Corn Seed, Spring Oats, Popcorn, Potatoes, Soybeans, Sugar Beets, Tomatoes and all other crops.

Aug. 15, 2015 — Report Cabbage (planted June 1, 2015 to July 20, 2015).

Sept. 30, 2015 — Report Aquaculture.

Dec. 15, 2015 — Fall Barley, Fall Wheat, and all other Fall-Seeded Small Grains.

The following exceptions apply to the above acreage reporting dates:

• If the crop has not been planted by the above acreage reporting date, then the acreage must be reported no later than 15 calendar days after planting is completed.

• If a producer acquires additional acreage after the above acreage reporting date, then the acreage must be reported no later than 30 calendars days after purchase or acquiring the lease. Appropriate documentation must be provided to the county office.

Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) policy holders should note that the acreage reporting date for NAP covered crops is the earlier of the dates listed above or 15 calendar days before grazing or harvesting of the crop begins.

Farm Service Agency County Committee nominations

The nomination period for local Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committees began on Monday, June 15, 2015. It is important for county committees to reflect America’s diversity, all eligible farmers and producers, including beginning farmers are encouraged to get involved in this year’s elections.

To be eligible to serve on a FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an agency administered program, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area where they are nominated. For election purposes, counties are divided into local administrative areas, or LAA’s. Each LAA selects one producer to serve a three-year term on the FSA county committee. Each year, an election is held in an LAA to replace the committee member whose three-year term is expiring. In counties with three LAA’s, one seat is up for election. In combined counties in some years, additional seats may be up for election.

An election will be held for the Shelby County Committee position for LAA 1 that includes the townships of McLean, Cynthian, Loramie, Turtle Creek, and Washington.

Farmers and producers may nominate themselves or others. Organizations representing minorities and women also may nominate candidates. To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign an FSA-669A nomination form. Additional information about FSA county committee elections is available at the FSA office and online at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections. Nomination forms for the 2015 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Aug. 3, 2015.

FSA will mail election ballots to eligible voters beginning Nov. 9, 2015. Ballots will be due back to the local county office either via mail or in person by Dec. 7, 2015. Newly elected committee members and alternates will take office on Jan. 1, 2016.

While FSA county committees do not approve or deny farm ownership or operating loans, they make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other agricultural issues. Members serve three-year terms.

For more information, contact the Shelby County FSA office or visit the County Committee Elections website at: http://www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.

The writer is the executive director for the Shelby County FSA Committee and can be reached at 937-492-6520, ext. 2.

No posts to display