Football notes: Area players earn all-league honors


Sidney junior Julius Spradling missed half the season due to injury but still earned the respect of Miami Valley League coaches who voted for all-league teams.

Spradling was named first team all-MVL, as was senior lineman Eli Biddle and junior receiver Ethan New.

Spradling was selected first team as an athlete. He suffered a shoulder injury late in the first half at West Carrollton in Week 5 and missed the rest of the season.

He played at receiver, running back and quarterback on offense and as a free safety on defense. In 4.5 games, he amassed 911 all-purpose yards and scored 10 touchdowns. Defensively, he made 43 tackles (35 solo, 16 assisted) and recovered two fumbles.

Biddle led the squad with 53 tackles (37 solo, 32 assisted) and made seven sacks; he recovered one fumble. New, who moved from receiver to quarterback late in the season, caught 19 passes for 301 yards with two TDs.

Sidney junior offensive lineman Luke Carter, senior defensive back Mitchell Davis, junior running back Isaiah Foster, senior linebacker Brice Hughes and senior linebacker Rylee Vestal were named second team all-MVL.

Carter made 32.5 tackles and a team-high seven sacks, Davis made 33.5 tackles and intercepted one pass, Foster ran for 589 yards and five TDs on 109 carries, Hughes made 35 tackles and Vestal made 41 tackles.

Seniors Dylan Kelly and Sam New were named honorable mention.

Troy running back Jahari Ward and tight end/defensive end Devon Strobel were named MVL players of the year, while Butler’s Zach Gueth was named coach of the year.

Lehman’s Donovan O’Leary named TRC back of the year

Lehman Catholic senior quarterback Donovan O’Leary was named the Three River Conference’s offensive back of the year, and several other Lehman players were named first team all-conference.

O’Leary threw for a league-best 1,977 yards and 20 touchdowns with 13 interceptions and ran for a league-beast 1,464 yards with 24 TDs. He also made 60.5 tackles and intercepted four passes as a defensive back.

Lehman senior offensive lineman JD Barhorst and sophomore receiver Turner Lachey were also named first team along with O’Leary. Lachey ranked second in the league with 739 receiving yards on 67 catches; he had nine TD receptions.

Riverside junior kicker Isaac Bender, junior offensive lineman Travis Brooks, junior tight end Ayden Clary, senior defensive lineman Nate Copas, senior linebacker Braylon Dunn, senior offensive lineman Ayden Phelps, senior defensive back Michael Shockey and senior running back Dominik Stotler were named first team all-TRC.

Lehman senior linebacker Will Ford, senior offensive lineman Seth Kennedy, junior running back Da’Ron Pride, junior defensive lineman Dillon Schmiesing and senior linebacker Ethan Stiver were named second team all-TRC. Lachey was named second team as a defensive back.

Riverside senior linebacker Reece Jenkins and senior quarterback Myles Platfoot were also named second team. Clary was also named second team as a tight end, Copas was named second team as a tight end and Stotler was named second team as a defensive back.

Lehman senior Jace Olding and juniors Ryan Ford and Devin Pride were named honorable mention all-TRC. Riverside’s Corwin Bell, Gavin Orsborne and Landon Purtee were also named honorable mention.

Riverside’s Bryce Hodge shared coach of the year honors with Miami East’s Hunter Folkertsma.

Milton-Union’s Kyler Fuller was named offensive lineman of the year, Troy Christian’s Paul McDonald was named defensive lineman of the year and Milton-Union’s Payton Mayfield was named defensive back of the year.

Anna’s Osborn named first team all-MAC

Anna junior running back Zach Osborn was named first team all-Midwest Athletic Conference on offense.

Osborn ran for 1,035 yards in regular season. He scored 21 rushing TDs, two receiving TDs and one kickoff return TD; he led the conference in scoring.

Anna senior receiver Trey Heitkamp was a second team all-MAC offensive and defensive selection; sophomore Nolan Wilt was a second team all-MAC defensive selection. Heitkamp caught 50 passes for 642 yards with six TDs in regular season. Wilt had 38.5 tackles (31 solo, 15 assists) in regular season and seven sacks.

Versailles senior quarterback Michael Osborne was named offensive player of the year. Versailles junior punter Leland Bolin, senior tackle Dominic Barga and senior running back Joel Gehert were also first team all-MAC offensive selections. Barga was first team defensively as a lineman and Osborne was first team as a safety.

Minster junior utility/athlete James Niemeyer and junior offensive lineman Will Frimel were first team all-MAC offensive selections, while junior defensive end Ian Homan was a first team defensive selection.

Anna’s Noah Aufderhaar, Clay Cummins, Nolan Howell, Mason Hughes, Alex Poeppelman, Aaron Shappie, Alex Shappie and Jacob Taylor were honorable mention selections.

Marion Local’s Tim Goodwin was named coach of the year.

Reach Bryant Billing at 937-538-4818, or follow @SidneyOHSports on Twitter and @BryantBillingSDN on Facebook.

No posts to display