Locals can join Lima credit union

Staff report

LIMA — Following the affirmative membership vote earlier this year, the Ohio Department of Financial Institutions officially granted a state charter to Superior Federal Credit Union, now known as Superior Credit Union Inc.

The credit union has selected a new logo and is in the process of updating signage, forms and marketing material.

Even after conversion to a state charter, Superior remains federally insured by the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Superior can now accept new members who live, work, worship or attend school in 17 northwest Ohio counties, up from six counties previously. Those counties are Allen, Auglaize, Putnam, Van Wert, Mercer, Hardin, Paulding, Defiance, Henry, Wood, Hancock, Seneca, Wyandot, Marion, Union, Logan and Shelby.

“We’re excited to have this opportunity to bring our products and services to this expanded geographical area,” said Phil Buell, CEO. “Superior is well-known for our offering of higher rates on deposits, competitive loan rates and lower service fees. But what sets Superior apart is our high-level commitment to technology and quality service.”

Buell noted that Superior offers one of the industry’s highest-rated online and mobile banking products and is the leading mortgage lender in Allen, Auglaize and Putnam counties.

Superior Credit Union, headquartered in Lima, is a full-service, member-owned, financial cooperative. Superior CU currently has 10 office locations serving more than 53,000 members. With assets of more than $525 million, Superior was named one of the Top 200 Healthiest Credit Unions in America 2015. The credit union also provides consumer and mortgage loans, brokerage services, insurance services, checking and savings accounts and small business services and loans.

Staff report