Small Business Administration Disaster Loans are available

COLUMBUS – There are Small Business Administration Disaster Loans available for both residential loss and for businesses for damage resulting from the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, flooding and landslides on May 27 -29.

“The U.S. Small Business Administration is strongly committed to providing Ohio residents with the most effective response possible to assist businesses, homeowners and renters with federal disaster loans,” United States Small Business Administration Acting Administrator Chris Pilkerton said. “Getting businesses and communities up and running after a disaster is our highest priority.”

In order to apply for the SBA residential loans, individuals must first register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Business are not required to register with FEMA, but it is recommended.

The site to do that is or individuals can download the FEMA mobile app. If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free helpline at 800-621-3362. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800-621-3362.

The disaster declaration covers the primary counties of Auglaize, Darke, Greene, Hocking, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Muskingum, Perry and Pickaway in Ohio. Businesses in these counties are eligible for both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA.

The secondary counties are Allen, Athens, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clinton, Coshocton, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Guernsey, Hardin, Licking, Logan, Madison, Morgan, Noble, Preble, Ross, Shelby, Van Wert, Vinton and Warren in Ohio; and Adams, Jay, Randolph and Wayne in Indiana. Businesses and most nonprofit organizations in these counties are eligible to apply only for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans.

Information about the SBA Disaster Loans is available at

Those in need of any assistance can contact the Ohio Small Business Development Center at 937-281-0118.