New Bremen Police Department receives recertification

COLUMBUS — The New Bremen Police Department in Auglaize County recently completed the Ohio Collaborative recertification process.

Recertification takes place on a revolving, three- to four-year cycle.

There are 482 agencies that are certified, and 97 that are in the process of becoming certified by meeting standards for the use of force, including deadly force, and agency recruitment and hiring. Additionally, over 29,897 officers (representing over 92 percent of all law enforcement officers in Ohio, including most of Ohio’s metropolitan areas) are employed by an agency that is involved in some form of the certification process.