Four to join Sidney Schools Hall of Honor

Staff report

SIDNEY — Four new inductees were elected to the Sidney City Schools Hall of Honor this week and will be enshrined on Friday evening, April 15, 2016, in the Sidney High School auditorium.

The public is invited to attend this 23rd annual event and the reception that follows in the adjacent gymnasium. The hall will have 119 members with these additions.

Chairman Devon Beer (SHS 1983) offered an overview of the selections: “The Hall of Honor selection committee is pleased with the diversity and strength of the 2016 induction class. From societal outreach to amusement parks, these are four very different people who deserve this recognition. We are anxious for the Sidney schools community to learn about the great contributions these individuals have made in their vocations and home communities. These four emerged from a very strong field of candidates, many of whom could be elected in the future.”

All 2016 inductees are Sidney High School graduates and all should be in Sidney for the festivities, including interactions with current students on the day of the ceremony. Three reside locally and one is elsewhere in Ohio.

Rob Decker (SHS 1978) is an international leader in the amusement park industry as senior vice president of planning & design with Cedar Fair. His specialty is roller coaster design complementing the theme and layout of the individual park.

Marjorie Dunnavant (SHS 1954) served the Sidney City Schools for over 40 years as a volunteer and board member. Her public service also included the Joint Vocational School, and orphan causes.

Kathryn Lindsey (SHS 1967) has spent her adult life providing positive options to victims of family circumstance and crime, most notably through New Choices, where she is in her second tour as executive director.

Charles Rhyan (SHS 1961) had a distinguished career as a school administrator, most visibly as Anna’s superintendent. He still works in educational consulting, was an original trustee of Edison State Community College, helped organize Shelby County Compassionate Care, and continues to serve on multiple boards of nonprofit organizations.

Specific individual biographies of each recipient will be released in the spring as the April 15 induction approaches.

“When we tell their full stories, we hope to make our community proud and to inspire current students, consistent with the Hall of Honor mission statement. Our selection committee is genuinely excited about this foursome,” Beer concluded.

Staff report