Edison faculty honored

Staff report

PIQUA — Edison State Community College faculty members Marva Archibald, Elisha Hicks, Carolyn Jackson and Vickie Kirk are recipients of the 2015 Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award from the Southwestern Ohio Council for High Education (SOCHE).

The instructors were honored at Faculty Excellence Awards banquet, Oct. 30, at the Dayton Art Institute.

Edison faculty members joined colleagues from SOCHE’s 22 member institutions honored at the banquet, including Antioch University, the University of Dayton and Wright State University.

“Our culture of caring and student support is a point of pride among our faculty and excellence in the classroom is promoted and evaluated on a faculty-to-faculty basis,” said Edison State President Dr. Doreen Larson. “These four faculty members exemplify the culture of Edison State and how faculty excellence permeates all of our academic divisions. They are innovative and have developed teaching methods that allow for students to work in teams, they provide experiences in problem-solving and critical thinking, and they are leaders in using technology to individualize instructions.”

Archibald is an assistant professor of office systems and administration and chairwoman of Edison’s Diversity Committee, which fosters a diverse culture across campus.

Hicks is an assistant professor of early childhood education.

Jackson is an assistant professor of office systems and administration and has served on the faculty Curriculum Committee and as an officer for Faculty Senate. She also leads the Program Advisory Committee in their effort to host Administrative Professionals Day, which attracts about 100 professionals to campus every year.

Kirk is an instructor of allied health.

Staff report