November candidates certified in Darke County


DARKE COUNTY — The battles will be in the townships this November, while some villages found it difficult to find anyone willing to take leadership roles.

Petitions for prospective candidates for the November election were due last week, and Monday the Darke County Board of Elections met to certify the candidates who had met the requirements to put their names on the ballot.

North Star

There are no candidates for the mayor position, currently held by Cory Griesdorn, or either council position, held by David Barga and Jason Stammen, being vacated.


No one is running in Osgood, either. The mayoral position held by Steven Winner, and two council seats held by Ronald L. Brunswick and Ronald Lange will reach the end of their terms in December.


Mayor Jeffry A. Subler has filed to retain his seat, while Versailles Councillor Jeffrey R. Subler will not run for reelection. Incumbent Todd Dammeyer filed to retain his seat on council without opposition.


Kenneth A. Subler will retain his seat as mayor of Yorkshire without opposition on the ballot. Two seats on council, being vacated by Steve Mangen and Scott Pfledderer, have no candidates filed.



Samuel F. Pohlman, of Yorkshire, and Kathleen M. Grieshop, of Versailles, will return unopposed to their positions as Patterson Township trustee and fiscal officer, respectively.


Larry Bubeck, of Versailles, trustee, and Ann M. Stammen, of New Weston, fiscal officer, both return unopposed in Wabash Township.


In Wayne Township, Trustee Michael J. Lawrence, of Versailles, and Fiscal Officer Terry M. Slonkosky, of Versailles, are unopposed for reelection.


James E. Zumbrink, of Rossburg, and Roger Heckman, of Versailles, trustees, and Alan J. Stammen, of Versailles, fiscal officer, are unopposed on the York Township ballot.

School boards

Darke County Educational Service Center

Clyde Bateman, of New Weston, and Kent A. James, of Ansonia, return unopposed to their seats on the Darke County ESC, as will Larry L. Besecker, of Arcanum, and Caroline Schmidt, of Arcanum.

Versailles LSD

Hope Batty, of Versailles, is registered to run for one of two full-term seats coming up on the Versailles School Board. Ron Gehret, of Versailles, and Steven E. Ruhenkamp, of Rossburg, are unopposed in their unexpired terms.

By Rachel Lloyd

[email protected]

Reach the writer at 937-569-4354 or on Twitter @RachelLloydGDA.

No posts to display