Officials attend CCAO/CEAO Winter Conference


COLUMBUS – Shelby County Commissioners Julie Ehemann and Tony Bornhorst along with Engineer Bob Geuy attended the 2022 County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) / County Engineers Association of Ohio (CEAO) Winter Conference at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Columbus, last week. The 3-day event’s theme was “Innovation and Inspiration to Shape Ohio’s Future,” providing an opportunity for local officials to become inspired by a variety of experts who shared innovative ways to address important issues counties are facing.

“The annual conference is always a good opportunity to get current information and share issues and ideas with our fellow elected officials,” said Ehemann.

Wednesday included a welcome to new CCAO members along with the CCAO/CEAO Opening General Session, featuring welcoming remarks from Director of the Ohio Department of Development Lydia Mihalik and NACo President Denise Winfrey.

On Thursday, Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine and First Lady Fran DeWine spoke at the CCAO/CEAO Luncheon. DeWine shared his plan to continue investing in counties, and the first lady spoke about the progress made through Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library Program. Ohio Senate President Matt Huffman also spoke about the issues we face at a state and county level.

Also on Thursday, Ehemann participated on a Broadband Panel discussing Shelby County’s outcomes with The Ohio Broadband Accelerator program.

Other session topics discussed included Jails and Reentry Programs, Workforce Development, Mental Health, Cybersecurity and much more. The diverse range of topics gave attendees the opportunity to customize their experience of the conference. Final sessions were centered on legislative priorities for the associations including increasing Force Accounts and regaining local funding through the Local Government Fund.

The 2023 CCAO Executive Committee Officers were elected at the CCAO Annual Membership and Business Meeting on Thursday. The 2023 Executive Committee is:

• Glenn Miller, Henry County Commissioner, CCAO president

• Chris Abbuhl, Tuscarawas County Commissioner, CCAO first vice president

• David Painter, Clermont County Commissioner, CCAO second vice president

• Casey Kozlowski, Ashtabula County Commissioner, CCAO secretary

• Denise Driehaus, Hamilton County Commissioner, CCAO treasurer

No posts to display