Middle school and high school participants/winners were, front row, left to right, Izzy Rihm, Leah Fuqua, Ayva Fogt, Amber Leopold, Layton Barhorst, Ragan Saylor, Madilyn Bender and back row, Celeste Beam, Keighlynn Rickert, Aubrey Dickman, Drea Scheele, Meredith Klein, Elaina Brandewie, Melissa Rivera.

Courtesy photo

Elementary winning writers were, front row, left to right, Emma Schulze, Pascale Billing, Mack Ahrens, Valerie Heitman, Skylar Ungericht, Karsen Powers; middle row, Brennan Axe, Molly Kranenburg, Alexis Ungericht, Caine Holsinger, Robert Cisco-Homan, Mia Ahrens, Trevor Schmidt, Dawson Lightle; and back row, Riley Williams, Max Bales. Not pictured is Wyatt Dagenfield and Isabelle Moorman.

Courtesy photo

Courtesy photo

Courtesy photo

ANNA — The fifth annual All Rockets Write Contest was recently held at Anna Local Schools.

The All Rockets Write program is a yearly writing contest for students in K-12 that is intended to generate appreciation and recognition of creative writing and illustrating by youth. They have the opportunity to write a fictional story or collection of poems and compete against other students in their grade band. The All Rockets Writing Contest has generated excitement around writing and illustrating for the past four years.

Every year participating students cannot wait to work on their story, and some even start early in the summer to get a jump start. Each participant has the option of allowing their manuscript to be displayed in the Anna Media Centers for other students to take home and read. Those that place first and second have a ribbon sticker placed on the front of their book to recognize their achievement. This yields enthusiasm for the next year’s contest. The event highlights the talents of our students that occur off of a playing field. Talents such as creativity and imagination can be harder to recognize and celebrate. This event allows for all students to feel appreciated and an important part of the Anna community. Students are able to obtain a blank board book and art materials (colored pencils, markers, etc.) from the school if needed

This year our entries have grown to 76 students (60 are elementary students). First place winners were awarded trophies and cash prizes across four categories, including illustrated story, short story, illustrated poetry and collection of poetry, and within each grade band (k-1, 2-3, 4-5, 6-8, and 9-12) Honorable mention will be given a journal and ribbon for their efforts in each category and grade band. All students will be able to display their books in the media centers for other students to enjoy. All works are judged by retired teachers, librarians, and local writers.

Funding for this program was generated by a grant from the Community Foundation of Shelby County and donations from local businesses Leugers Insurance, Panel Control Inc., and Steve and Ted’s Services. A banner was created to recognize their support and will hang at the awards presentation and in the media center year round.

The 2022-23 writing contest winners are:

Grades K-1: Illustrated Story Winner – Valerie Heitman, Illustrated Story Runner Up – Emma Schulze, Short Story Winner – Mack Ahrens, Short Story Runner Up – Karsen Powers.

Grades 2-3: Illustrated Story Winner – Molly Kranenburg, Illustrated Story Runners Up – Brennan Axe and Pascale Billing, Short Story Winner – Caine holsinger, Short Story Runner Up – Skylar Ungericht, Illustrated Poetry Winners – Trevor Schmidt and Dawson Lightle, Poetry Winner – Alexis Ungericht.

Grades 4-5: Illustrated Story Winner – Max Bales, Illustrated Story Runner Up – Wyatt Dagenfield, Short Story Winner – Mia Ahrens, Short Story Runner Up – Isabelle Moorman, Illustrated Poetry Winner – Robert Cisco-Homan, Poetry Winner – Riley Williams.

Grades 6-8: Illustrated Story Winner – Amber Leopold, Illustrated Story Runners Up – Ragan Saylor and Madilyn Bender, Short Story Winner – Avya Fogt, Short Story Runner Up – Izzy Rihm, Illustrated Poetry Winner – Elaina Brandewie, Poetry Winner – Layton Barhorst.

Grades 9-12: Short Story Winner – Meredith Klein, Story Runner Up – Celeste Beam, Illustrated Poetry Winner – Keighlynn Rickert, Illustrated Poetry Runner Up- Drea Scheele, Poetry Winner -Meredith Klein.